Exploration

De Ramen

Pippo and I took a walk today down Nobelstraat, past Janskerkhof, and then back home via Voorstraat. Despite the constant pulling on his part, he was actually quite the good boy and put up with me stopping constantly to take photos. He even let me have a bit of fun with him. I didn’t mean to end up on Voorstraat, since it’s a street I already know quite well (one of the Albert Heijn groceries we go to is there), but it did give me the chance to photograph the building you see here. It’s one of my favorites (more of the building can be seen in my Flickr photostream). These red and white shutters are fairly common around town and just seem so very Utrecht to me for some reason. Café Tilt, at the end of our street, also has some which I’d like to photograph. Maybe that will be our destination tomorrow.

While we were walking on Voorstraat, we also went past Stein, an interior decorating sort of store. They have some lamps vaguely similar to the one we saw in Nisha, so I might have to go in and give their lamps a closer look. They’re a bit cheaper than the Nisha lamp, although ultimately, they’re probably a bit heavier and not as nice as the Nisha one.

I also did a bit of online exploring today, looking for expat groups. I’m feeling social and wouldn’t mind meeting some more people.  One I’m definitely interested in is the International Women’s Contact Utrecht, which seems to be quite active and involved in a variety of activities. Also of interest is SENSE (Society of Native-English-Speaking Editors), which could prove to be a valuable resource professionally.

Leave a Reply

