Areas of My Expertise

Honden Toilet
my waiting area

I’m starting to worry. It seems like any time G goes out of town, something unpleasant happens to me. Last time, my knee got badly banged up as I tried to stop Lola from going over the wall. This time — today — I managed to lock myself out of the house.

I had gone to the grocery store this morning, a little after 11 a.m., trying to get the shopping done before it got even warmer. Unfortunately, rather than take my bag, I decided to just make use of my pockets. Silly me. In making sure I had the Pin card, the AH bonus card, my iPod (thank goodness!) and the grocery bag, I forgot to grab the keys. I didn’t realize until I was almost home. Then the realization hit me hard, with a hot, humid, sweaty fist! I tried not to panic, since I knew Fred and Family had a spare set of keys. However, when I tried ringing their doorbell, I got no answer and assumed they were either not home or still sleeping. I went home anyway and tried to see if there was any way I could get in, and even found a stick to try and use through the mail slot, but with no success. (Actually, that’s a relief in terms of long-term security. ) I did end up scratching up my hand and wrist, though. No luck with the back garden door, either. Throughout it all, the cats mocked me, sitting lying there in the window without a care in the world.

I ended up sitting in the alleyway for a while, trying to cool off and see if there was anything else I could do. Sadly, I came to no good conclusions, other than waiting it out. Either the Potdeksel would open first or G would come home first. Either way, I faced a wait of three to four hours. After cooling off in the alley, I then headed over to the canal area and found the bench free finally (it had been occupied when I had checked earlier). I spent about two hours there, before eventually heading over to the Potdeksel and sitting on the benches there. A little before 3 p.m., Fred came out and I was able to get the spare keys and make my way home.

Fortunately, although I hadn’t remembered to take the keys with me, I had remembered my iPod, so to pass the time, I ended up listening to the audiobook of John Hodgman’s The Areas of My Expertise. It was a decent way to pass the time and gave me a few chuckles along the way. I particularly liked the bit about the actuaries. Perhaps I can write a book someday covering my own area of expertise: ways to make your life hell while your boyfriend is out of town.

One thought on “Areas of My Expertise

  1. Pingback: Hay-Zoos « A Flamingo in Utrecht

Leave a Reply

