Makeup and Okra

After putting off a trip to The Body Shop for weeks, I decided to finally go today to pick up some makeup I’m nearly out of at this point. Sadly, the sunshine of yesterday is but a distant memory today, but I headed out regardless of today’s cold, grey weather. Unfortunately, I didn’t look more closely at the time that I headed out. As I got closer and closer, I realized that none of the shops were open, even in the slightly more touristy sections. It was, after all, a Monday morning.

Most shops are closed here on Sundays, with a few minor exceptions. Monday aren’t much better, with some stores not opening at all, while the rest don’t usually open until noon at the earliest. Unfortunately for me, it was 11 a.m. I briefly had thoughts of wandering for an hour and headed over to one of the tokos (usually an Asian market), hoping that they might just be open. Sure enough, they were! Even better, they had okra today! I picked some up, since G and I were talking last night about possibly making one of our favorite beef and okra stews for his birthday this week. I also picked up some garam masala, since Albert Heijn seems to have stopped carrying it, despite having it regularly up until recently.

When I walked out of the toko, purchases in hand, I checked the time. It was only 10 minutes later. The problem with killing time in Utrecht when nothing is open is that the city itself is only about a 10 minute walk from one side of town to the other. I hadn’t even brought my camera with me! In the end, I decided to give up on killing time for another fifty minutes and just head over to the grocery store, since I was planning on picking up ingredients for tonight’s dinner anyway. Even that didn’t take long. I was home by 11:35.

Maybe I’ll head back tomorrow. Or maybe Wednesday. Eventually.