Winning with Rietveld

Rietveld Facade
Waar in Utrecht, in conjunction with Centraal Museum, has been hosting a Rietveld in Utrecht competition, in which snippets of photos of Rietveld’s buildings in the Utrecht region were posted, and you had to guess which building it was. I entered quite a few (okay, most) of the nine rounds of the competition, but didn’t win until the very last round. I was thrilled to win, because I get free tickets to the Rietveldjaar exhibition, along with some sort of extra goodies. The exhibit is over soon, ending at the end of January, so I’ll be going sometime in the next few weeks.

I’ve been celebrating the Rietveldjaar in my own way, going to look more closely at the various building facades he designed here in the city center. One of them is the one seen here, which is located right on the Oudegracht. It’s the office supply store, Mado, which went through an interior and facade redesign. Particularly of note is the way the window displays are a bit more free-floating and creating an encompassing entrance to the store. Rietveld also designed the lettering for the sign, although it has shrunk at some point over the years. The basic design of the lettering seems to be the same, though. The construction took place in 1961, and if you want to see it for yourself if you visit Utrecht, it’s located at Oudegracht 119.

If you like Rietveld and have an iPhone, I highly recommend the Rietveld Architecture app. It has current and old photos of 200+ of Rietveld’s buildings, along with information about each building and even maps and GPS coordinates to help you find the closest building to your location. It has been an eye-opener for me to realize just how many of his buildings I’ve passed on a regular basis. It also helped me win those last tickets!