Crooks and Action Heroes

Crooks
There’s some renovation going on along some of the (historical) buildings along the Drift canal with some interesting and artistic artwork along the plywood panels. Many of the buildings along the canal are part of the university’s “campus” and I think the artwork may be done by students.
Action Hero
This part kills the editor in me, though, because I want to fix it every time I see it. It should be “coming outta nothing” for the slang version or “coming out of nothing” for the more appropriate English version. If they could just add in one more T, I would be happy.
Burnrs?
I don’t know what BURNRS is.
Style
Action and Ethics
From A to Z
Art
It’s a fun and interesting decoration for what would otherwise be plain ol’ plywood and plastic sheets. I look forward to seeing the final product, even if it’s just cleaned up. Starting tomorrow, I’ll be showing a few more of the historic buildings along this canal.
Art

Ranting. You’re Doing It Wrong.

I’ve been in a bit of a funk this past week. The weather probably isn’t helping. Regardless, this all means I’m not in the best of moods. So when I saw yet another article going on and on about Amsterdam — ignoring all of the other cities in the country — I started ranting and left a comment on the article.

Before you think too badly of me, read my rant:

And when you’re tired of all the tourists in Amsterdam, take a 25-minute train ride down to Utrecht and enjoy shopping, sightseeing and drinks along the Oudegracht and its wharves. See the tallest bell tower in the Netherlands, the Domtoren. View the best example of Gothic architecture in the country, the St. Maarten Cathedral, which is still in use, but was partially destroyed in a storm in the 1600s. Go see the Rietveld-Schröder House, designed by Dutch architect and designer Gerrit Rietveld, following the principles of De Stijl (think Mondrian). Enjoy a beautiful city that is smaller and more easily viewed on foot or bike, without the huge crowds. Stay late or overnight and take a walking tour through the city in the evening to see the different light displays that are part of the Trajectum Lumen exhibit all over the city.

Yeah, I don’t think I’ve quite got the hang of Internet ranting. ;) On the other hand, the Utrechts Uitburo (tourist office) should totally hire me!