New Versions of Old Architecture

Glimmer
I’ve been to Den Haag (The Hague) twice in the past couple of weeks. I’m starting to actually be able to find my way around chunks of it without a map. One spot that I’ve seen every time is this new housing development of sorts. It’s eye-catching and I love the idea behind it. They’ve recreated typical Dutch row housing, and even included a “canal” of sorts, but all with a modern touch to it. It provides a bit of continuity to the city, without staying completely stuck in the past. The canal is actually just a shallow pool, but it ads a bit of charm and life to the block. I’m not sure if it is actually housing or if it’s offices or a mix of the two. Either way, it’s a nice nod to the past, while offering modern construction.
Modern Dutch
I couldn’t resist doing a bit of searching. It turns out the complex is called ‘t Haegsch Hof and it is a residential place. There’s more info here (in Dutch). Modern living in a nostalgic jacket is what their marketing phrase translates to literally. I guess you get the point. Modern interior; nostalgic exterior.