One Way Or Another

Signs
See that red and white circular do-not-enter sign? I came across a few of those this past Sunday while out for a more extensive bike ride. I’m still new to the bike-riding thing, despite having had my bike for almost a year now. Living where I do in the city center, it’s usually just as convenient to walk, and if I’m going somewhere a bit further, most likely I will want to walk, because then it’s an excuse to take my camera. Everything goes by too quickly on a bike; you can’t just stop as often as I do when I’m walking to take a photo.

Anyway, back to the sign. Honestly, I wouldn’t have thought twice about the sign if it hadn’t been for the little pictures of the bicycle and scooter. Unfortunately, I didn’t know what the word uitgezonderd meant, so I didn’t know if it meant you couldn’t go that direction on bikes and scooters as well as in a car, or if it meant bikes and scooters were an exception. As I was still a bit wobbly on my bike, I figured I’d rather not chance it until I knew for sure what it meant. For what it’s worth, it means bikes and scooters are the exception and they can, indeed, go the wrong way down a one-way road. I figured as much, but suddenly, I was aware of rules of the road in a much different way than I have been since moving here. Since I don’t drive here, it’s easy enough to end up ignoring the bulk of the street signs, but once I ended up steering a moving vehicle (even if it is propelled only by my own force), all of the signs seemed to jump out at me.

I am getting used to the bicycle stoplights, although at one point I admit to getting overwhelmed for a brief moment as I tried to find the bicycle light amid the regular traffic and walk/don’t walk lights. I blame the momentary panic on an incredibly sore tush. Despite any extra padding I may have, none of it seems to make riding the bike any more comfortable! I think I’m only now — Wednesday — not feeling the ache. I’m sure if I keep it up, my tush will eventually grow used to it … or numb.

I leave you with another nicer shot of this canal and street, this time without the signs. Focus instead on those fantastic shutters on the buildings in the background, and the lovely bit of greenery reaching down to the canal below.
Grand Entrance

12 thoughts on “One Way Or Another

  1. I think that I learnt what “uitgezonderd” meant even before I learnt how to say, “goede morgen” :D Traffic signs always made me curious…
    Lovely pictures, by the way!

  2. You’ll definitely feel less sore the more often you cycle. If I’m riding at least every other day, I don’t get sore at all. However, the first bike ride after you’ve been away on a bikeless holiday is pretty rough!

    • My problem is getting around to riding often enough to get over the soreness. Maybe this week I’ll try to make a point of getting on for at least a short ride each (or every other) day. Life got in the way last week.

  3. Which canal is this? I don’t remember seeing those houses with the bay windows hanging over the water before. They must be relatively new.

  4. Yep, it means bikes and scooters exempted LOL, I *can* see how this might be misinterpreted (now that you mention your confusion) but strangely enough I never had this problem when I saw these signs.
    … other, different problems, yes, but this one never “got” me.
    Cool canal shot… beautiful shutters!

    • I know a number of the “uit” words, but when faced with a sign like that and not knowing the rest of the word, I figured it was better to be safe than sorry.

Leave a Reply

