Foto Vrijdag: Stormy Weather

Sun and Storms (no filter)
Not much blogging recently, huh. I just haven’t been in the mood. I blame it on the stormy, grey weather. Hail, heavy winds, lots of rain … with the occasional burst of sunlight as seen in the photo. This kind of weather makes me not want to do much of anything except hibernate. It looks like we might get some nicer weather Sunday, just in time for the kerstmarkt (Christmas market) on Twijnstraat, so hopefully I’ll get out and get to enjoy it once again. Gluhwein, cute animals at the live nativity, gluhwein …

Tomorrow, I may even finally put the tree up, since I did manage to make up a batch of homemade eggnog today. I’d also like to get the right holder so I can make some Chocomel (hot chocolate) in our coffee maker. Hmmm. I’m seeing a theme to my interests these days. Winter drinks. Maybe once I’ve had my fix of each, I’ll be feeling more of the seasonal spirit.

8 thoughts on “Foto Vrijdag: Stormy Weather

  1. Í just bought a big new (as in second hand :-) sofa, piled lots of soft pillows on it + a warm blanket + my cat, and now I never want to leave it again. If you think December is awful, wait for January and February, those are the months Dutch people absolutely hate the most. No more festivities, just grey, cold, wet, dark and miserable days.

    Nice photo though, depsite the bad weather!

    • Yeah, by February I’ve usually really had it with the dark and the grey. I think this is just the initial winter lethargy, especially with it getting dark so early. That always takes me a while to adjust to.

      I do enjoy the amount of time I get to spend with both cats cuddled up with me, though! Enjoy your new cozy hideout!

    • I keep thinking snow would be pretty, but then I remember that they don’t clear the sidewalks here and I walk everywhere. Suddenly, with memories of slipping and sliding on icy sidewalks, snow doesn’t seem so appealing anymore!

  2. This has been a horrible week, so it was nice to see the blue sky this morning. It was so bad on Wednesday, that our children had to be DRIVEN to school. Children were walking with flashlights instead of riding their bikes. Between the wind and rain, it has not been pretty.
    And what they say about the Dutch clouds is true–they are like nothing I have ever seen before. I always feel like they are putting on a show and this week has been filled with shows!
    Great photo and reminder of a memorable week. Now I have to make a cuppa of something warm.

Leave a Reply

