The Muses Are Cold

Cold Inspiration
Still working away, but every once in a while, I run up against good ol’ writer’s block when my own writing muses seem to be as cold and frozen as the muses depicted in this sculpture/fountain that stands in front of the Stadsschouwburg. Tomorrow, though, I get to go get inspired by a couple of friends in Den Haag, and if nothing else, it will be a nice break from writing. Plus, I get to see some other friends here in Utrecht in the evening, so it will be nice to get out and about and be social again.

In the meantime, apologies to those whose blogs I normally read and like/comment upon. I’m so ridiculously far behind and have no idea when I’ll get caught up again. And thanks to those who comment and like my postings here. I’m sorry I haven’t been able to reply back, but I truly do appreciate you all. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. We may get some more snow Sunday and/or Monday, so my snowy pictures may continue! Fijn weekend!

6 thoughts on “The Muses Are Cold

  1. Another really nice sculpture. Wow, I just realized there are at least 3 people there! It initially looked like a tree stump.

    I also know what you mean about getting writer’s block. I’ve not been that creative lately especially with the bridge competition. It’s just not clicking for some reason!

    Anyway, great photo.

    • It’s a lovely fountain during the summer and looks fantastic when the sunlight catches the water.

      I find that the creative bug seems to hit when I’ve got no chance to follow through — such as now. Ideas are percolating, just not necessarily for the topic I need!

  2. I live in Italy and here it is snowing a lot, so I’m starting to hate the snow; anyway, I like your blog, really (maybe, one day, I’ll start writing my blog in english)!

    • My boyfriend is from Bologna so we’ve been following the weather in Italy and all of the snow you’ve had. It’s nice at first, but when it disrupts your life, it starts to lose its appeal.

      I’ve enjoyed trying to follow along with your blog. My reading skills in Italian are a bit slow still.

  3. Never knew that that sculpture depicted the muses, but then again I never looked at it that closely. Nice photo, and good for you that you have some time off work again. All work and no play isn’t good for anyone :-)

    • The fountain is called Feest Der Muzen and is by the sculptor Joop Hekman. I could have sworn I’d written about this fountain/sculpture before, but it turns out I never actually posted the title. Instead I wrote about Hekman’s Biru sculpture that’s over by the Centraal Museum.

      It was nice to get a day away from writing, but I’ll have to be back to the grind today.

Leave a Reply

