Cat Games

Hanging Out
Saturday, while wandering around the city, I decided to stop in at the Flora’s Hof next to the Domtoren. They always have beautiful flowers and a changing array of plants on display, including my beloved palm tree. As I was about to leave through the old gate I saw a flurry of flying cats as the black cat pictured above seemed to be chasing a ginger cat through the window to the right. The ginger cat disappeared, but the black cat decided to hang out for a while.

Suddenly, though, I saw another ginger cat dart across the walkway and hide behind a bicycle parked next to the wall.
Hiding
Such an adorable little face! I don’t think it was the same cat that ran in through the window, unless she’s got some secret underground passage that lets her out on the opposite side in very short order. But they are cats, so it may well have been the same cat. They are great at disappearing acts and popping up where you least expect them.

The black and white cat eventually decided to head back indoors, perhaps to cool off for a few moments from all the sunbathing and running around. I’ve seen quite a few cats in the Flora’s Hof over the years, providing yet another reason to stop in whenever I get a chance. There’s no telling what hijinx you’re bound to see!
Disappearing Act

8 thoughts on “Cat Games

  1. I always see at least a few cats when I’m in the centre, it definitely feels like Utrecht has more cats then the average Dutch town centre. Which can only be a good thing! That little ginger one hiding behind the bike looks just like my cat, only the red striped version :-)

    • I do like seeing all the cats around town, especially the winkelkatten asleep in the window.There’s a black cat that hangs out by the Vismarkt who looks so much like Luna.

  2. Very cute! I have been searching for an American expat’s blog who is living in the NL to try to answer some of my questions since I will be moving there in a few months. Your blog is very appealing and beautiful! On an irrelevant note, I was wondering if you have a cell phone plan over there, and if you do, do you use an iPhone (maybe one you brought over from the U.S.)?
    Thanks!

    • Good luck with your move! I’m happy to answer any questions I can, although I’m the worst person to ask about mobile phones. I have an iPhone, but it was given to me by a Dutch friend and I only have a pay-as-you-go SIM card for emergencies. I hate phones. ;) You may want to ask A Georgia Peach in Utrecht about stuff like that. I think I’ve got her blog listed on my Xpats page or you can google her.

    • From our back terrace, we can see the cats that live in the apartment building next to us. It’s fun to see them prowling around the courtyard. They drive our dog crazy, though. :)

Leave a Reply

