Dutch Irish

As I’ve been reminded, today is St. Patrick’s Day. I’ve seen a few people online mention that they were making colcannon for various potluck parties today. Since I’m not Irish and this blog is about my life in the Netherlands, I thought I’d discuss stamppot, which is essentially the Dutch version of colcannon.

They’re basically the same dish: mashed potatoes with kale and some bacon mixed in. Delicious, I call it! The Dutch also do other variations with sauerkraut, spinach, curly endive, or carrots. I used to make my own American variation on it, I guess, because I liked to mix corn into my mashed potatoes. Stamppot is often served with rookworst (smoked sausage) or gehaktballen (meatballs) and gravy.

A Stamppot-To-Go restaurant recently opened here in Utrecht, on Nobelstraat. They’re open from 4-9 p.m., designed to be a handy way to get a healthy dinner on the table when you’re pressed for time. They sell the different types of stamppot, and some of the traditional accompaniments, as well as soups, including the classic erwtensoep (split pea soup).

(Editor’s Note: Sadly, Stamppot-To-Go has since closed.)

15 thoughts on “Dutch Irish

  1. *Gasp* I TOO love to mix my corn in mashed potatoes! Im so glad Im not the only one!! whoo hoo I love Stamppot! It’s the first time I ever had kale aswell and fell inlove with it.

    Im baking whoopie pies with a green filling for St Patty’s Day..not very traditional but who cares:)

    • Yay! Another corn mixer! Most people kind of laughed at me when I mentioned it before, particularly that I’d make a whole meal of it.

      I’ve had kale quite often, since I used to make a kale, white bean, sausauge and tomato soup/stew in the US. Tasty and simple and pretty healthy.

      Whoopie pies sound like a fun way to celebrate! Enjoy!

  2. I love Stampot… not that difficult when you grow up with it! Luckily my boyfriend from England loves it too!
    Where can we find this stampot-to-go place in Utrecht? I’d love to try it one time…

    greetz

    • StamppotToGo is on the eastern edge of the city center on Nobelstraat, which is one of the names of the main street that runs from east to west through the center of the city. Basically, leave the train station and follow the main road (I think it’s Vredenburg at that point) and head east. It’s located deliciously close to the Koek en Chocolade store, as well. πŸ˜‰

  3. I totally missed the fact that it is St. Patrick’s Day.

    I love Stampot. I only discovered it a year ago when we went to stay with my girlfriends parents. They cook it all the time.

    • St. Patrick’s Day is almost freakishly popular in the US, to the point that even people who aren’t Irish seem to celebrate. You’re also supposed to wear green or people can pinch you. Some bars sell green beer, which I always thought was a horrible thing to do to beer. πŸ˜‰ Is it that big of a deal anywhere else? Is it even that big a deal in Ireland?

      My boyfriend has talked me into making gehaktballen tonight, so I will be making stamppot to go along with it.

  4. We saw that stampot place! Do you know if they have any vegetarian options? I make it with veggieworst πŸ˜‰

    My dad immigrated to the US (Boston, of course) from Ireland from a very small village and he assured us that no, ‘back in the day’ it was not celebrated the way it is now. In fact, he went to church with his family on St. Patrick’s Day. AND he had never even heard of ‘corned beef’ until he arrived in the US.

    • Here’s the menu listing: http://www.stamppottogo.nl/default.asp?page=Vraag_%20en%20_antwoord_Menukaart&pid=52

      I’m guessing Vega Balletjes are vegetarian meatballs? You could always e-mail to ask just how vegetarian they make the stuff.

      It’s always interesting to hear how events associated with one country are actually celebrated, compared to how they evolve in the other countries natives move to. I’ve come to understand that a lot of things we think of as Italian in the US are quite different from how they are in Italy. As with the corned beef, in Italy, there is no pasta alfredo. πŸ˜‰

  5. I’m thinking this is the same thing my Dutch family calls boerenkool(is this limburgs i’m wondering?!) Potatoes, Kale, Onion and Cream…I just tried it for the first time on a visit in October..YUM!

    • Yeah, I think boerenkool is maybe specifically the kale version; hutspot is the one with carrots and onions. Maybe stamppot is just the generic term for the mashed potato and veggie dish.

Leave a Reply

