(Half) Year of Rietveld


I studied art history at university and was particularly interested in architecture. Although I tended to be more into rustication from the 1400s, I also enjoyed the more modern work that was done in the early 20th century. One of the buildings that I always found appealing was the Rietveld-Schröder House, built by Gerrit Rietveld for Truus Schröder. It just so happens that the house is here in Utrecht.

Beginning Thursday, Utrecht will be celebrating Rietveldjaar (Rietveld Year), although to be honestly, it only runs through January 2011, so it’s more of a half-year celebration. Still, there will be various events and such going on, including free guided tours of the house this weekend (something I’m tempted to do). Anyone want to go with me? Later in the year, C-Mon & Kypski will be doing a special performance at Tivoli for the celebrations. Three of them can also be seen in the video above. I’m not sure what happened to Kypski, the one I actually have met.

The video shows his famous red-blue chair making the trip from the house to the Utrecht Centraal Museum (which now maintains the house), with stops at the Stadhuis where the mayor (I’m assuming) takes a ride, and also takes a trip through the Griftpark, where it’s visited by one of Rietveld’s other famous chair designs. Rietveld was part of the architecture and design movement known as De Stijl, known for its simplified use of form and color, emphasizing the use of straight lines and rectangular shapes, but not necessarily symmetry. The Rietveld-Schröder House was built completely using the principles of De Stijl.

3 thoughts on “(Half) Year of Rietveld

  1. Great, loved the video! The visit to the Rietveld house is sth else (besides the Nijntje museum) that I still have to do in Utrecht. I might be going this Thursday, but not sure yet if I’ll get a ride.

  2. awwww how tempting is this invite! Sadly we are totally booked out this coming weekend with near-end of school year events and the next several weekends too, or I would be jumping at the chance to join you.
    I also studied Art History (and Practical Art) too and majored in Graphics and whilst the more modern styles are not my forte, there are a few designers who manage beautiful clean lines and a vast amount of detail in their minimalism.
    Cool video! I had a giggle, great concept.

Leave a Reply

