Southern Food Goes Fancy

Pulled Pork on Corn Cakes
Corn cakes and pulled pork. That’s pretty southern to me. It’s also pretty much heaven on a plate. I love corn and I love the pig in all its many cuts. Recently, while checking foodgawker, I came across this recipe for Mexican Corn Cakes and Shredded Pork. As the blogger herself put it, southern, southwestern or what, it’s a great dish. I couldn’t resist, and since I still had some corn meal left over that needed to be eaten, I figured now was a perfect time to try this dish.

I kept pretty true to the recipe, only subbing parsley for the cilantro, since G isn’t a fan, and swapping out goat cheese for the feta cheese, since I already had some that needed to be finished. I left off the final tomato slices and I swapped out red pepper flakes for the jalapeño. I also cut the recipe in half, and served it with some asparagus tips that were on sale that day.

Overall, I was really happy with the recipe. The corn cakes were delicious and now I need to remember to track down some more corn meal either at the Saturday market or at the toko. It’s one of those ingredients that was easy to find in the southern part of the US, but requires a bit of hunting now that I’m living here in the Netherlands. The only thing I would do differently in the future is to maybe add some vinegar to the pork and maybe serve the pork on the side, instead of atop the corn cakes. I’d still keep the avocado and sour cream on the corn cakes, though. I just thought the taste of the pork got lost against the corn cakes and sour cream. Ultimately, though, this is definitely a dish to make again. It looked so pretty, too!

For my vegetarian friends, you could easily just skip the pork part of the dish. As I said, I’d serve the pork (or maybe some shredded chicken) on the side the next time, or just serve it without the meat, as well! It was a nice taste of home and inspired me to make some BBQ pulled pork sandwiches a few days later. Yum! (It should be noted that I made a ketchup-based BBQ sauce, not a vinegar sauce. North Carolina readers will understand.)

4 thoughts on “Southern Food Goes Fancy

  1. Yum yum and yum! Love love love the pig!!! Could you imagine a good ol’ southern pig pickin’ in NL? What I would give!!

  2. I can get really finely ground cornmeal at the mill here in Eindhoven. I wonder if there is a similar place up there? Otherwise the tokos seem to be the best place to check!

Leave a Reply

