Editing Services

ABNEditing
In my past life, as I like to say, I worked in newspaper and magazine publishing. I worked my way up, over the years, to become editor-in-chief of an international trade magazine. As a result, I spent a lot of time editing and proofreading anything that we published, and we published a lot! Because of the various magazines I worked on, I covered all sorts of topics, including business, medicine, politics, art and personal interviews. I’ve also done freelance work over the years, editing academic papers, website copy and advertising materials.

Why am I telling you this? Because like any good expat who moved without a job, I’m looking for work. Specifically English-language editing and proofreading. You see, I’ve started my own company, ABN Editing (ABN are my initials and in this case have nothing to do with the Dutch language). Having worked with a number of writers over the years who do not speak English as their native language, I’ve become used to smoothing down the rough edges of their writing, catching the typical mistakes that often arise. Living here in a country where English is used quite often, but where it is not the native language, I hope to put my skills to good use. Of course, I can help those who speak English as a first language, as well. We all need a second set of eyes to look over our work.

I enjoy the work, but I hate doing the promotional side of selling myself. I’ve been trying to get ABN Editing out there, but figured a good place to start would be here on my blog, which I know is read by people from all over the world. If you are looking for English-language editing work anywhere in the world or know someone who might be, please keep me in mind. My rates are reasonable and my work is done in a timely manner. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask. I’ll do my best to work with anyone on any project.

14 thoughts on “Editing Services

    • Facecrack page has been started. The Elynx website was giving me trouble last week. I need to give it another shot and see if it’s working better now. It seemed to be down completely for a while.

  1. Gefeliciteerd en heel veel succes!

    And if I come across anyone who might need it, I’ll make sure to pass along your info. At least I hope I’ll remember to do so!

  2. That’s a lovely ad – are you also a graphic designer?

    I was a tech writer in my past (American) life but it’s really hard to find English documentation jobs here in Germany. They are out there, they are just rare and often not in my state. I’d like to do what you are doing; I looked into putting an ad in the local paper and it’s extremely expensive to have even a tiny ad for only one day!

    I worked as a proofreader for a Seattle newspaper and it was a great experience that helped my tech writing career. Editing in the technical world was challenging mostly because of the egos involved. One must be very tactful when it comes to correcting a colleague’s writing: ), but you know all about that.

    I wish you success!

    ~lytha

    • Thank you! I’m not a graphic designer, just an amateur photographer. 😉

      There do seem to be jobs out there; it’s just a matter of making the approach and finding out the best places to get your name out. That’s the part I’m still trying to figure out. Good luck with your own search!

  3. Hi neighbor,
    The last time I left a comment it was about enlisting you for a possible freelance interior decorating job, then things got super busy and I was out of the country for a bit & I never followed up after I got back! Still, I do check in from time to time and continue to enjoy your blog and be a lurking neighbor.

    I’m glad I stopped by today because I just saw your post about launching your editing business. Congrats!
    Have you heard about the Society of English-Native-Speaking Editors (SENSE) here or visited their site?
    http://www.sense-online.nl/

    I’m a NL-EN translator and so far haven’t done anything in the way of marketing or professional organization joining, but I know a couple translators/editors who have had good things to say about SENSE.

    There’s an upcoming workshop that might be something appealing for you, and it’s in Utrecht!
    http://www.sense-online.nl/events/88-starters-day

    I’m gearing up to go out of the country again soon but would definitely like to touch base with you one of these days!

    Groetjes,
    Leslie

    • Hello again! I do remember the interior decorating discussion, but life got a bit crazy for me around that time, as well. I believe that’s when I banged up my knee badly and was a bit immobile, and then had a bunch of visitors once I was back on my feet. It’s nice to hear from you again.

      I have heard of SENSE, but haven’t seriously looking into joining yet. Still, it’s good to hear that others have been happy with the organization. I’ll definitely have to look more closely into joining. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to attend the workshop on Saturday.

      Once you’re back for a bit, we should make an effort to meet up finally. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

