Autumn in Utrecht

Zocherpark
First off, I should probably warn you that some of these photos may induce a sense of dizziness due to a bit of swirly blur in them. This is what happens when you use a camera phone to take photos, while you’re attached to a large dog going out for the first time that morning.

It’s the first of November and it’s clear that autumn (herfst) is in full swing here in Utrecht. The leaves, which have been slowly turning yellow and falling into the street, are creating a fabulous show of color around town, including at Zocherpark in our neighborhood. When I went out with Pippo this morning, I was struck by how beautiful it all looked. It’s a grey, overcast day, but it’s easy to ignore that part and just focus on the kaleidescope of vivid fall colors. With the canal running along side the park, it really is picture perfect (even if my pictures weren’t perfect today).
Autumn Swirl

Herfst on High
I think I might give NaBloPoMo a shot again this month. I shall try to aim for quality as well as quantity, but I make no promises! In the meantime, enjoy the crisp carpet of leaves!
Colorful Carpet

3 thoughts on “Autumn in Utrecht

  1. Hasn’t it been really beautiful?! I was worried it may be dissapointing after Asheville but there’s still a lot of fall beauty here!

    • I just saw your photos this morning. So pretty! I’m glad you’re not feeling completely homesick for autumn in the mountains. Fortunately, we do get some really beautiful color changes here, even if we don’t have the mountains. That hill I posted a shot from is pretty much the highest spot here in town. 😉

Leave a Reply

