Fantastic Flamingos

I’ve seen this a few times in the past week and figured I ought to share it, even if it has nothing to do with Utrecht or the Netherlands.  But really, a blog with the word flamingo in it really should be excused for going off topic in this case. The photo was taken by Robert Haas (National Geographic/Caters News Agency), and shows flamingos in roughly the shape of a flamingo, in Yucatan, Mexico. A rare, perhaps once-in-a-lifetime shot!

Certainly quite a bit different from the weather we’re having here now. We got snow yesterday and it’s cold enough today for it to keep hanging around, with more expected to join it tomorrow, from the looks of things. The cats are dreaming of warmer, flamingo-inhabited climates as they suck every bit of heat possible out of the radiators.

4 thoughts on “Fantastic Flamingos

  1. Yep, Cold with a dusting of the white stuff in Den Haag (The Hague) too… and it’s me sucking up the heat as I’m now immobile, having just gotten out of hospital after breaking bones in my foot, being operated and having 3 pins put in. It hurts and it sucks, as I was already sick of the sight of crutches earlier this year.
    That amazing photo certainly cheers me up.. wow, what ARE the chances of getting wild birds into a bird formation AND having a great photographer in the right place at the right time to actually see it and get photos?
    Talk about the shot of a lifetime!!!
    Cats + Snow, not a happy combination that springs to mind with any cat I have ever known, so yours are keeping up the feline tradition of avoiding snow as much as possible and making the best of the cold situation by being heat thieves.
    Sounds like wisdom to me LOL… If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em and tell them to leave you a spot next to that radiator!

    • Yikes! Operations and pins in feet doesn’t sound nice at all! Suddenly my sore back doesn’t seem so bad! I hope you’re back on your feet without any aid very soon. Stay warm and enjoy the pretty picture the white stuff is providing!

      I’ve been enjoying my role as armchair traveller through your blog posts. I love all the beautiful tiles and architecture. And the food always makes me suddenly feel very hungry!

  2. Very cool photo. It’s almost like the flamingos did it on purpose. I’m trying to spot the one with the megaphone telling the others what to do.

    The snow is the same in Amsterdam and Rotterdam at the moment. Too bad it is the powdery kind of snow. I tried to throw a snow ball at the wife just now and it turned into nothing before it reached her.

    • I like to imagine them doing all sorts of crazy shape formations: jets, octopii, bicycles, vacuum cleaners …

      The snow seems to have returned. Not sure what it’s going to be like for snow warfare. It’s the small, fine stuff, which might be better for sticking. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

