Foto Vrijdag 2.48 Bicycle Thief

Spotlight
I awoke at 5:30 this morning to a clatter from outside. It was too early to be either Sinterklaas (Dec. 5) or Santa Claus (Dec. 25), so I chose to remain as still as a opossum playing dead, rather than to spring from my warm, comfy bed to see what was the matter. The noise seemed to come from the alley next to our house, making it sound as if someone was breaking into our back garden door. Disturbing when you’ve been suddenly woken! I soon realized our tiny fortress was safe, but took a moment to realize that a neighbor’s bicycle most likely was not so safe. I eventually translated the clanks and clatters to be the sound of a bicycle lock being broken. Unfortunately, by the time I figured this out, all was quiet again, so I had little chance of scaring off the thief.

This particular photo was taken earlier this year in the Janskerkhof. I like the spotlight effect, and feel like the bicycles should break out into a romantic duet.

9 thoughts on “Foto Vrijdag 2.48 Bicycle Thief

    • The thief was too fast for me; by the time I realize what was going on, it was all over. I do feel bad for the neighbor. The thief should be glad I didn’t catch him in time; I was feeling some righteous indignation over being woken up because of a crime! I have a big dog and I’m not afraid to use him! 🙂

  1. We came across a bicycle thief during our visit to Maastricht. We were sitting on a bench and this thief came by and was trying to steal a bicycle in broad daylight! Thankfully we with the help of a couple of other people managed to scare him away.

  2. exactly that night someone tried to break into our flat.
    we live in lucasbolwerk,20 above the barber’s shop.
    any chance you might have surprised our thief?
    if so, thanks a lot

    fran

  3. Oh, I love the spotlight effect on the bikes! It’s a wonderful lighting technique. I tried this technique at home a few months ago with a household object and I loved how the photo turned out. Thanks for sharing!

    • I can’t lay any claim to arrangement of this photo. The bikes and the lights were already there. It was the sort of photo I couldn’t resist, obviously, since it is such a great bit of lighting. I just wish I’d had a tripod to get a crisper shot. Spotlighting items really does give a great effect. I should try it more often at home.

Leave a Reply

