Winter Wonderland

Snowscape
It has been snowing off and on for the past few days, to go along with the arctic cold temperatures. The native Floridian in me still gets a thrill when we get snow (sneeuw), so today, with the snow coming down steadily, I couldn’t resist going out in it. Pippo was equally excited about the idea; I’m not sure who was more eager to go! I bundled up — Pippo already has a fur coat — and we headed out into the blowing snow.
Sticks and Snow: Heaven
Pippo is a snow dog at heart. He was racing around, jumping, sticking his nose in the snow, and playing with every stick he could find. He becomes like an overeager puppy any time he gets in snow. Because of his exuberance, we didn’t go far, just to the Zocherpark nearby. I didn’t want to try to navigate snowy sidewalks with an overexcited dog barreling ahead! There were a number of people out and about, but there’s still that lovely hush that comes over everything when there’s a layer of snow on the ground.
Lucasbolwerk
And for the record, yes, people are still out and about on their bikes, even in the snow, although I did see a few people who gave up riding and just walked alongside their bicycles.
Snowy Transport
The canal hasn’t frozen over yet, although if these cold temperatures remain, I’m sure it will get a bit of ice in some areas. Not enough for skating, though.
Wittevrouwensingel
Somehow it seemed appropriate in this calm, peaceful, quiet world to see this particular sticker:
Power to the Peaceful
We’re home now, with Pippo curled up in the bed on his blanket and me with a nice warm mug of hot chocolate. The snow is still falling and it’s just all so gezellig! (However, our neighbours who are moving out today might not feel so enamored with the snow, nor are my friends who are trying to travel by train today. A little snow and the train service falls to pieces. Good luck to you if you have to be out in the weather for anything other than fun!)

6 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland

  1. I’m loving all the snow..although now ours is turning to slush:( I’m sure we will get more before to long. I never get tired of watching it fall 🙂

    • Sadly all of this disappeared the very next day and is now just slush and very slippery ice. I love snow, but hate ice! I’m still looking forward to more. I’m with you; It truly is beautiful to watch it snow.

  2. Up in the north a few rivers had frozen and there were already Dutch children out skating this weekend. I also heard a lot of talk that Elfstedentocht might happen this year (but I hear that every year).

    • I’ve heard the Elfstedentocht talk already, too. It certainly does seem more possible this year! I’m pretty sure our sidewalks last night at 2 a.m. when I took our dog out would have been excellent for ice skating!

Leave a Reply

