Ranting. You’re Doing It Wrong.

I’ve been in a bit of a funk this past week. The weather probably isn’t helping. Regardless, this all means I’m not in the best of moods. So when I saw yet another article going on and on about Amsterdam — ignoring all of the other cities in the country — I started ranting and left a comment on the article.

Before you think too badly of me, read my rant:

And when you’re tired of all the tourists in Amsterdam, take a 25-minute train ride down to Utrecht and enjoy shopping, sightseeing and drinks along the Oudegracht and its wharves. See the tallest bell tower in the Netherlands, the Domtoren. View the best example of Gothic architecture in the country, the St. Maarten Cathedral, which is still in use, but was partially destroyed in a storm in the 1600s. Go see the Rietveld-SchrΓΆder House, designed by Dutch architect and designer Gerrit Rietveld, following the principles of De Stijl (think Mondrian). Enjoy a beautiful city that is smaller and more easily viewed on foot or bike, without the huge crowds. Stay late or overnight and take a walking tour through the city in the evening to see the different light displays that are part of the Trajectum Lumen exhibit all over the city.

Yeah, I don’t think I’ve quite got the hang of Internet ranting. πŸ˜‰ On the other hand, the Utrechts Uitburo (tourist office) should totally hire me!

18 thoughts on “Ranting. You’re Doing It Wrong.

  1. they should totally hire you πŸ™‚

    I agree and have been avoiding this kind of stuff like the plague for months. I’m trying so hard to embrace where I’m at – where are all the articles about Arnhem???

    It clearly shows that you are interested in where you live and embracing part of it every single day. I like that πŸ™‚

  2. Winning arguments on the internet is imposable. It can’t be done.

    I totally agree with you though. As much as I love Amsterdam it is not the best or most beautiful city by far. There are a lot better ones out there. I just recently discovered Den Bos.

    • Maybe that’s why I’m so bad at internet ranting; I know it’s pointless. πŸ˜‰

      I admit that I haven’t spent that much time in Amsterdam, and of course there’s lots to see, but I do think it would be worth visitor’s while to get out and see more if they’re bothering to come all this way.

  3. That is the nicest rant I have ever read. πŸ™‚

    Did you ever have any luck with the tree painting? I was sitting in my office and thinking about how pretty it would look on the wall. But I understand if it is impossible to get here!

    • Oh! Thank you for reminding me! I finally found the shipping tube that I knew I had brought with me, but I found it around Xmas and got caught up in everything and forgot to e-mail you to see if you still wanted it. I’ll go ahead and mail it to you next week if you want to e-mail me your address again.

  4. That is possibly the politest rant I’ve ever seen. πŸ˜€

    I honestly don’t understand the love affair so many seem to have for our capital. I don’t find it THAT great, Haarlem is much more charming and not overrun with tourists. Or even worse, the influx of British bachelor parties.

    Unfortunately due to the house prices in Amsterdam (family dwellings in particular), close proximity and great access links, a lot of them end up here. Simply because it does have a similar feel to it as a city, but nicer. Or at least that is my opinion. πŸ˜‰

    And really, there are plenty of lovely cities in this country: Nijmegen, Maastricht, Groningen, Dordrecht, Middelburg just to name a few. Hell, even Muiden, just outside of Amsterdam is quite nice with its castle and fortifications. Not to mention a great escape.

    • We actually considered Haarlem, when we realized how expensive Amsterdam is. But then G visited Utrecht and fell in love. Considering how small the country is, it really is a shame more people don’t go that far outside of Amsterdam when visiting. It’s not like it takes that long. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks to other expats and friends who do live outside Amsterdam, I’ve been finding out about lots of other cities that sound fascinating. Now to actually go! We should definitely meet up this year and you can show me around Haarlem!

      • You’re most welcome to come visit! And I’ll definitely show you around! Including the charming ‘hofjes’ we have quite a few of.
        Funnily enough the best place to have a view of Haarlem city centre is the La Place restaurant on the top floor of the V&D.

  5. It is the most polite internet rant I’ve read lately – befitting a perfectly polished southern girl like you πŸ˜€
    I also tend to get annoyed about people going on and on about A’dam – especially outside the NL, when they hear I live in this small country in Europe they always have to make remarks about the Red District in A’dam, which I’ve seen probably twice in my entire life, despite having lived here for 8 years now.
    I like A’dam and I think it has a character and identity all of its own. But Holland – or rather the Netherlands, is so much more than *just* Amsterdam and so varied, too.

  6. Amsterdam is the country’s tourist buffer zone; it absorbs the impact so that the rest of us can go about our business undisturbed.

    Luckily I live in Groningen, which is unimaginably far away from the Randstad (according to residents of the Randstad, especially) and we only have to deal with occasional Germans.

    • I admit that even I thought Groningen was “too far” when I was considering seeing a concert there once. πŸ˜‰ As much as I think people should visit Utrecht and other cities, I also appreciate not having herds of tourists making daily life annoying. In the long run, I’d probably prefer that people just stick to Amsterdam so I can pity them from the comfort of my non-crowded terrace.

  7. Pingback: Utrecht: Come Visit | A Flamingo in Utrecht

  8. Pingback: Utrecht: Come Visit | International Almere

Leave a Reply

