But I Bet It Costs a Fortune

Small Living
The weather we’ve been having really has put me into a funk. I’ve had no interest in going out for a walk around town to get new and attractive photos. I’m hoping the bit of sunlight we’re supposedly getting Friday will stick around and help cheer me up. In the meantime, you’ll have to make do with some older photos of the city.

I took this one a week or so before Christmas, but never got around to posting it. From the looks of it, this is a single residence. Just this one narrow bit. I have no idea if it’s like the Tardis and is surprisingly spacious inside, or if it really is as small as it seems, making some NYC apartments look big in comparison. Or maybe it’s attached to one of the other buildings after all, and is just a separate entrance. I’m really kind of curious, especially since this isn’t the first time I’ve seen one of these small spots in town. This one is located behind the cathedral, so I’m sure that even if it really is a tiny living space, it probably costs a lot!

16 thoughts on “But I Bet It Costs a Fortune

  1. They can often lead to a rear property that isn’t really visable from the street. Sometimes built in an alleyway so filling a gap between buildings.

    Saying that, there are a few narrow houses around the Netherlands, this may be one of the truly narrow ones.

    • Oh, those hidden/gated bits of property are such a tease to me. I always want to go back there and explore!

      In this case, it seems like it would have to lead to a separate building, since you can see out a window/transom in the back on the ground floor, so it still seems to be separate somehow. That’s why I wonder if it really is just a very tiny residence!

  2. It certainly makes you wonder … as you say, it looks as if it led to a separate building, or probably it was one of those alleys that have been walled up and added up in a way, to one of the buildings next to it. If it is a residence, then, it’s really tiny!! It makes you want to wait outside until someone comes out or goes in to see if you can get a peek πŸ˜€

  3. There have been a multitude of taxation methods in the Netherlands over the centuries, one was a window tax, and one was per frontage… this lead to some VERY narrow houses so it’s difficult to know if this is one of these (It COULD actually be one of those, or it could be an alleyway… either option is totally possible.

    • The US has had some of those taxation methods that have led to interesting architecture, such as variations on how much front or back lawn you have. It’s always interesting to see huge chunks of cities that have developed to get around them. When you get a mishmash as we have here in NL, especially in the really old cities, it’s always fascinating to try and guess the reasoning!

  4. Indeed the weather has affected my own actions but consider the funk you’d be in if your camera just up and died and there were no way for you to replace it. This happened to me the other day, just 24 hours after I set up my photoblog to begin publishing the daily photo regime that I’d been working on since arriving here from Canada October 1st. I only say so to cheer you up Alison; I can tell you that as a long time photographer and former professional, that to find oneself in Europe as a North American who’s dreamt of the day of being here and finally focusing my own lens on these buildings, art objects and people, that this situation is tres funky indeed. Thankfully I’ve a decent enough backlog that I can blog my photos taken since arrival but it’s not the same. There is something missing on me, in me…but… I’m determined, and in fact certain, that this is going to make me a better photographer. Now that it’s been a few days and I can go for walks again and not stare down at the sidewalk the entire time for fear of seeing beauty I wish to capture, I am seeing differently and I am appreciating what the art form means to me. Thanks for your posts Alison, they’ve helped me come to know and enjoy my new hometown much more quickly than would have otherwise have been the case and I’ve enjoyed many of your images a great deal.

    • Oh, how awful! I know how easy it is to find a million things you want to photograph when you don’t have a camera with you. It can be incredibly frustrating. On the other hand, as you said, it doesn’t stop you from still enjoying and just seeing the world around you. I’ve certainly found that getting more involved in photography has helped me see more of the world I live in, from my own home, to wherever I am at the time. You can’t help but “frame” shots in your mind. As a result, I tend to notice and appreciate more around me now — although with the occasional moments of obliviousness. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you’ve found a way to just enjoy the walks and getting to know the city, but I certainly hope you can get a new camera soon! Try marktplaats.nl. You might find something reasonable there that will at least tide you over.

  5. It could also be like the house in Harry Potter Order of the Phoenix. It just suddenly expands and pushes the other houses aside but I have to admit that I like the Tardis idea more.

  6. Indeed, Stuart beat me to it but I, two, was thinking of Grimmauld Place no. 13! πŸ˜‰
    Greetings from Maastricht by the way where we enjoyed a wonderful dinner tonight through the concept “you just tell us what you won’t eat and how many courses you prefer and we make you dinner” at a place appropriately called “Courage”. Can’t wait to see what the rest of the weekend will bring!

  7. Pingback: Size Is Relative « A Flamingo in Utrecht

Leave a Reply

