Biru the Chow Chow

Biru
The internet is a wonderful thing. A quick Google search and voila! I had the name and artist for this sculpture that stands down at the lower tip of the Utrecht binnenstad (city center), just down the street from the Centraal Museum at the Servaasbrug. The statue is named Biru, after the dog owned by the artist, Joop Hekman. This one is a copy of the original, which is part of a larger grouping in Enschede. The artist himself originally hails from Utrecht and he, perhaps not surprisingly, had contact with Gerrit Rietveld. It was through Rietveld that he was eventually commissioned to create the statue/fountain that stands in front of the Stadsschouwburg (city theater) here in Utrecht! Somehow I’d never found out the name or artist of the fountain, despite seeing it regularly. He has a few other outdoor sculptures here in town, which I’m now curious to go see.

9 thoughts on “Biru the Chow Chow

  1. I’ve actually been wondering about this statue. (But was too lazy to look it up.) Chows don’t seem to be a common breed here, so I was wondering if it had any special significance. Thanks for sharing!

    • I’m surprised it took me this long to look it up, since I’ve also been curious about it. It reminds me of a similar statue dedicated to a police chow in Japan, I think.

  2. I thought this looked familiar – I ‘ve seen the one in Enschede long time ago. Great to see that the Rietveld “ramifications” are endless….

  3. Pingback: Time Travel: Hiëronymus Gasthuis « A Flamingo in Utrecht

Leave a Reply

