Foto Vrijdag: Dutch Architecture

Rooftop
I love walking through the old city center, because you can always find an interesting building to admire, be it more modern or more traditional, or maybe something in between. As we were walking to the Streekmarkt Sunday, we took a slightly different route than normal and came across this lovely building from 1895. I love the warmth and crispness of the combination of the brick and white detailing, and the whimsical bits of detail add to the charm of the building. The modified stairstep facade is typical of this part of the world. Add in a beautiful blue sky and it’s hard not to stop and admire such a building.
1895

8 thoughts on “Foto Vrijdag: Dutch Architecture

    • I love that there can be such a difference in architectural styles from country to country within Europe. Growing up, I visited family often enough in Britain to be used to that style. Then I studied Italian Renaissance architecture, and now I live with Dutch architecture. The funny thing is that I now tend to take the Dutch stuff for granted sometimes.

  1. I think you should take a canal tour in Utrecht one of these days. 😉 Gives you a complete different view on everything.

    • I did take a canal tour a couple of years ago when a friend came to visit. Unfortunately, the windows were a bit dirty and there were so many frames to the window that it was actually hard to see much! They have some newer boats with bigger panes of glass, so I might try again some day.

  2. My husband predicted many years ago, that I would one day grow tired of taking shots of Dutch buildings and of bikes, stating that with the passing of time, you don’t see it anymore – he couldn’t have been more wrong, I never tire of trapgevels and certainly not of bikes. Funny how we sometimes compare similar shots we take: mine always try to include a bike daarbij while he tried to avoid them! 😀

  3. My husband predicted many years ago, that I would one day grow tired of taking shots of Dutch buildings and of bikes, stating that with the passing of time, you don’t see it anymore – he couldn’t have been more wrong, I never tire of trapgevels and certainly not of bikes. Funny how we sometimes compare similar shots we take: mine always try to include a bike daarbij while he tries to avoid them! 😀

Leave a Reply

