Sunday Cats

Is Anyone Watching?
I was going to make a Caturday post about this cat we saw last week, but then I took the day off from computers and such yesterday and forgot about it. I’m sure somewhere in the world the word for cat somehow rhymes with a word for Sunday.

So yes, last Sunday as we were on our way to the Streekmarkt, I saw this cat looking quite intently at this tree. I couldn’t see if there was a bird that was the real source of interest, but you could tell that this cat was weighing up its ability to climb up that tree. I caught it looking around, as if hoping to avoid an audience, and also seeing if there was enough space to get a running jump. It didn’t seem inclined to make any move with us watching, so off we went. Maybe we should have walked back that way, just to make sure the cat hadn’t gotten stuck!
Can I Make It?

8 thoughts on “Sunday Cats

  1. There was probably a nest on the tree and that was what had him so interested? The season for me to like cats less and birds more has already started – there’s war in my garden! 😀
    By the way, there’s an ad by Google on this page, for the Oudaen Café 😉

    • The weather is looking warm and sunny these days; time for that visit to Oudaen soon!

      Since my cats are indoor-only cats usually, but I’ve got a kitchen full of windows, I enjoy watching the birds hop around in the back gardenish area. They taunt the cats, who chatter at the birds. It keeps me entertained and no one gets hurt!

  2. I think he’s probably sizing up his revenge because the birds are on full volume with the dawn chorus. (sigh) I wonder if he managed to carry out his roguish plans?

  3. I don’t even care what the cat is looking at, I am just so thrilled that you spotted a cat! Since I have been here I have seen four cats–two in my neighborhood, one in Edam, and one in a window in old Utrecht. I thought this cat has the best view of all, just watching the foot traffic.

    There are so many dogs in this country, it is refreshing and hopeful to see some cats. I was worried that they had all been shipped to Belgium or something.

Leave a Reply

