Ijs Ice Baby

Ijs Ice Baby
Today, I had a sudden craving for a smoothie from The Juice Shop, a small North Carolina chain that sells nothing but smoothies. I first tried one right around the time they opened, because they started off in downtown Greensboro, not far from the Greensboro News & Record, where I was working at the time. I think to get all of us hooked on the things, they brought in samples to different departments. The plan worked. I was never a huge smoothie fan, but I loved The Juice Shop’s version. They’re so simple and such great flavors! The Arctic Orange is probably my favorite, but they’re all lekker!

So, knowing that I can’t get one any time soon, I figured I’d try to make my own. That meant that while I was at the grocery store today, I’d have to pick up some ingredients. Along with the bananas, I also picked up a frozen fruit blend (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, etc.). I had hoped to get just strawberries, but they didn’t have them on their own. I could have just bought fresh, but I figured I might as well go with the frozen ones, since I wanted the smoothie to be slightly frozen anyway. I also couldn’t find orange sherbet, so now I’m not sure how it’s going to turn out. Oh well, it will be healthier without the sherbet anyway!

While I was looking at the frozen section, I noticed a package of ice cubes. Not a bag of ice, as my American readers will be familiar with; this was a fairly small, rectangular package of ice cubes, neatly squared off and packaged. You see, ice just isn’t much of a thing in Europe. You’ve got to ask for it. Fortunately, it’s not really been an issue for me, since I rarely order anything while I’m out that would require ice. Luckily, if necessary, we do also have a little ice cube tray, which I’ll probably finally use this summer when I make some Pimm’s Cups.

So, if you’re planning on moving to/visiting Europe and you really like your ice, be prepared. You’ll have to ask for it when you’re out and about; they won’t give you much; and you’re probably better off bringing the larger size of ice trays if you’re moving. It’s just one of those little differences.

11 thoughts on “Ijs Ice Baby

  1. That’s hilarious. Yes, like you get a tiny glass when you ask for a coke in a restaurant, it doesn’t surprise me that, when they finally start selling ice at the grocery store, it would be in tiny packets. Which is kind of silly since you can make a tiny amount of ice yourself in your freezer with an ice tray.

    • I thought the small amount of ice was kind of funny, too. I suppose it’s for the people who occasionally want ice but can’t be bothered to track down and purchase an ice tray. If you’re having guests, I guess it’s one cube of ice per person. πŸ˜‰

  2. this is definitely not an ice loving country. If we did a search, I bet you would find few ice trays in homes.

    In Rotterdam recently, I asked for tap water. Not only did I get it with a smile, but 6 ice cubes!! I was so excited and thanked the waiter over and over again, he now believes I have an ice fetish. But oh how sweet it was.

    Now back to reality–two ice cubes the size of grapes floating at the top of the tap water.

  3. Oooh Ice! I love ice!. And sorry Alison, your boyfriend will hate me! I love white wine and ice in this weather!
    It’s true though, hardly any Dutch households have it, we bought a new freezer and ice tray didn’t come with it, standard in Spain.

    • But if it’s white wine, it should already be chilled! πŸ™‚
      In retrospect, I’m now slightly surprised our fridge had an ice tray, considering it’s one of the small half-size fridges. Not that I’ve actually used the ice tray yet.

  4. I’ve never really looked for ice in the supermarket. We have regular ice trays at home, which we use almost all year round.
    In Argentina you can find ice dispensers at petrol stations and you get it normally in bags.

    • If I hadn’t been looking for the frozen fruit, I never would have seen the ice cubes. Once I did see them, though, I couldn’t help but laugh. We have the ice dispensers/bags at petrol stations in the US, as well, along with most grocery stores and places like 7-11. There’s no shortage of ice! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

