Anyone Have Any Brick?

Kolonisten
Saturday afternoon, we headed to Oudewater to finally experience the thrill and frustration of Kolonisten. It’s a game a bit like a mix of Risk and the Sims, as you build up and trade resources and grow your developments and build streets. The title of this post refers to one of the materials you need to build roads and cities. It’s the one material I was always short of the first round. My kingdom for a brick! If you haven’t annoyed your competitors too much with the Robber, you can always try to trade materials with each other. The game is a lot of fun and there’s a lot of strategy involved, as well. It’s also an excellent game to play with friends while nibbling on lots of different cheeses and meats and breads and dips, as were so generously provided by our hosts. We had a wonderful evening of good friends, good fun and good food. If you play board games, I highly recommend this one.

Rather than worry about driving to Oudewater, we decided to take the bus this time. We managed without any real difficulty, other than a bit of confusion over whether we’d properly checked in and out with the OV-chipkart getting on and off the buses. It was charming to see how friendly and cheerful the passengers were with the bus driver, chatting and saying goodbye and thanks as they got off. I guess if you ride the same bus regularly, you start to recognize your driver. Taking the bus also meant we got to walk through a bit more of Oudewater and enjoy a beautiful dusk. The sky at 10 at night was washed with a beautiful mix of pinks, blues and purples.
Oudewater
And this was the view at the bus stop. Not bad!
Bus Stop View

9 thoughts on “Anyone Have Any Brick?

  1. Love that photo of the river especially.

    I do know what you mean about the bus driver. In my old job I used to take the same bus everyday, and the same driver would always be there. And he was crazy about me for some reason. Everytime it would be like he was seeing an old relative! When I left the bus he would look around to locate where I was on the street and give me one last wave as he drove off! Great guy…always incredibly cheerful! It was almost impossible not to have a smile on your face as you got into the practice.

    • It’s amazing how much of a lift it can be to have a stranger you see regularly be so nice and friendly. There was a street worker I used to pass a few times a week in NY and he was always so cheerful and friendly and always said hi. It definitely made the start of my day much better.

    • Oh, between the cheese and the pataat met and other Dutch delights, it’s certainly easy to put on a few pounds! 🙂 I was sorry I only had my camera phone with me, instead of my regular camera, because the light and colors along the canal and throughout the old city was spectacular.

  2. Alison,

    I LOVE Kolonisten! My boyfriend’s Dutch and we play it with his friends and my American friends all the time. Good times. I’m happy to see somebody blogging about this. It’s so Dutch!

    P.S.
    LOVE your blog.

    Elena

    • Thanks! It really is such a fun game and our friends were telling us about the all-night tournaments they’d play and the rivalry that would come out! It’s fun hearing from others now about how much they too enjoy the game!

  3. Love Kolonisten, we play all the time. Actually having a kolonisten BBQ this weekend. It was actually one of the first things I learned to do in Dutch – I had never heard of the game before coming here. We have the expansion sets, which makes it even more fun. Perhaps you can join us one day to play?

    I just love your photos, they’re beautiful.

    • Oh, a kolonisten BBQ sounds like lots of fun! Enjoy! Our friends have some of the expansion packs, although since this was our first time, we stuck with the basic game. I definitely want to play again and try out the expansion packs. I’d love to join you some day.

Leave a Reply

