Random Sunday Observations

Shady Oasis
Why is ok for street sweeper machines to be out working at 8 a.m. on a Sunday morning, but god forbid a normal store be open?

Pippo and I took a little walk before breakfast this morning and wandered through Janskerkhof. Despite the torrential downpours we’ve had in the past 24 hours, the scent of yesterday’s flower market still hung heavy in the air.

The rain looks like it’s on its way back any minute now. We got the walk in just in time. Today is Culturele Zondag (Ga Groen!), but I’m not sure the weather will encourage me to leave the house again. Baking, on the other hand, seems like the perfect rainy-day activity. I think I’ll make a small batch of muffins with a little bit of chocolate and the handful of strawberries I have left.

4 thoughts on “Random Sunday Observations

  1. Indeed – it makes no sense at all that shops won’t open on a Sunday but the streets get cleaned at such an ungodly hour! :D
    The weather this June has been far from perfect – not exactly the ideal weather to go out and explore…

    • The funny thing is that I don’t think regular city workers in the US would ever work on a Sunday unless it was an emergency. Stores, however, will usually open, at least by noon.

      Supposedly some sunshine is coming next week. I’m not holding my breath, though. ;)

Leave a Reply

