Independence Day

Last Remains
Happy Fourth of July to all of my fellow Americans, no matter where you’re living today! I may not be the most patriotic of people — I’ve grown up with mixed loyalties, and those have just gotten mixed up further over the years as more countries have their influence on me — but I do think the US has had some good ideas and managed to put a few of them into practice, even, so today I raise a glass to all of those people who have worked to make the country a better place. Just remember that all of those freedoms and liberties that you’re so proud of should be extended to every American, not just the ones you like. 😉

We’re celebrating this evening with ribs that we found at the organic butcher. They had precooked and premarinated ones, but I managed to ask (in Dutch) for some plain, uncooked ones. They turned out to be incredibly cheap (goed koop), so now I wish we’d bought more! I made some potato salad to go along with the ribs and we’ve got a dry rub about to go on them, and I used the last of my molasses to make some BBQ sauce. Molasses is one of those “exotic” foods here that I can buy in the expat food shop, for the price of an arm and a leg. Thank goodness the bottle I bought lasted for almost three years. It makes the cost a little more bearable! The Dutch do their fireworks on New Year’s Eve, so things will be quiet here. If you’re setting off your own fireworks, enjoy and be careful!

Happy Independence Day!

7 thoughts on “Independence Day

  1. Happy Independence Day and enjoy those ribs! Pity that there won’t be any fireworks today, though…
    Does the American Embassy host any kind of celebration today?
    In Argentina we celebrate our Independence on 9 July. On this day we usually eat some “locro” with is a very hearty sort of stew with corn, vegetables and all sorts of meats and sausages. It is winter down there, so it’s ideal food – but here in the middle of the summer it’s not such a good idea to make this kind of dish.. no typical celebration for those of us who are here in the north, then …

    • Oh, that dish sounds delicious! You should post the recipe on the 9th. But yes, perhaps not ideal for the northern hemisphere. What a shame!

      I’ve never thought to check if the embassy does any sort of event, but for our dog’s sake, I’m glad fireworks only come around once a year here! The ones here are much bigger than any I saw in the US!

    • Those were the leftovers from New Year’s here, one street over from us. I think they could have taken down aircraft, so I suspect flights may have been scheduled around the fireworks here on New Year’s!

  2. Happy Fourth to you too! My human has been in over 100 countries so he’s seen a few systems and is old enough to have seen the old USSR up close and personal. You’re right about the US not being perfect – the problem who is better? Equality is an individual not a government commitment. Unfortunately, as a species, humans have a way to go.
    Sandy

    • I haven’t tried using stroop instead, because it’s just not quite the same flavor. I might try it sometime, just to see if it works well enough.

Leave a Reply

