Flashback to the ’60s

Always the Domtoren
In doing research on another topic I wanted to post about, I came across a photo that I couldn’t resist posting here. The photo above is a photo I took last year along the Plompetorengracht, looking toward Voorstraat. You can see the white City Bioscoop (movie theater) in the background, and behind that, on the far left, is the Gothic apse of the cathedral. Of course, the Domtoren rises above everything as it does in the old city center.

While looking for other photos and information about another building on Voorstraat, I came across this photo of the Plompetorengracht, taken from almost the exact same spot as I took my photo, except this one was taken in 1968.

You can see it a bit larger if you go to the actual photo page at the Utrechtse Archief website. Besides the cars themselves, the main difference seems to be the number of lamps along the canal, and the tree on the right. There’s a tree back in that general spot now, but it’s a bit younger and smaller, I think.

While searching, I also found a tiny bit more information about the City Bioscoop. It opened 19 January 1936 and was built in the Art Deco style, as many movie theaters were built during this time. There’s a mention of it in this old photo talking about the opening of the new theater.

Coming soon, more time travel with extra kraken.

4 thoughts on “Flashback to the ’60s

    • I think the bird and the reflection are my favorite parts. It was beautiful golden light that evening. My dad and I had gone out to get some photos of one of the windmills in town.

  1. Hey, great picture – and I can see my house! In yours, that is – in the archive photo it’s just blocked by the edge of the tree. I remember when they cut that down. Everyone on the Plompetorengracht was infuriated.

    • I remain envious of you living on the Plompetorengracht. I can imagine the residents would have been upset to see the tree cut down. At least a new one has gone in.

Leave a Reply

