Weekly Photo Challenge: Path

Illuminated Path
When I saw the subject for this week’s photo challenge, I came up with a number of ideas, but the one that appealed the most was this tunnel that leads from the Ganzenmarkt down to the Oudegracht. It’s one of the many areas that has undergone a light-art transformation as part of the Trajectum Lumen installation around Utrecht. It’s also one of the spots that I’d not yet visited to see lit up. When we went to dinner on the Oudegracht the other night, I figured this was a perfect opportunity to see the lights for myself and to get some photos for this challenge. In the end, I took a number of photos, playing with movement and aperture opening times. I’ll probably post some of the fun ones tomorrow for Wordless Wednesday and leave this post for just the few that best represent the path to enlightenment, so to speak.

Rainbow Bright

Swoop

Light at the End of the Tunnel

The city of Utrecht initiated Trajectum Lumen as an exploration after dark, following artistically lit locations throughout Utrecht’s historical city center. Launched in the spring of 2010, it will reach its climax in 2013 when Utrecht celebrates the 300th anniversary of the Treaty of Utrecht. The light displays run every evening after dusk, all year long.

21 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Path

  1. I do really like that whole set you posted on flicker. Apart from the ones above (especially the last one with the rain water) I also liked the blurry ones which I thought had a painterly quality to them.

    Great work as usual.

    • Thanks! Getting caught in the rain and having to take shelter meant I had a lot of time to play around. I’m so glad I experimented and got the swirly ones. I’m really happy with them.

    • I really loved taking all of these and playing with different amounts of light and angles and movement. There are so many options with this particular light display. It’s definitely worth a visit to Utrecht just for this tunnel!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Path! « Cheryl Andrews

  3. Pingback: 9 SEPTEMBER 2011 : THE PATH THROUGH THE REST OF MY BLOGS « 2011 – ON THE BENCH

Leave a Reply

