Shades of Escher

Escheresque
As I mentioned last week, Saturday was Open Monument Day here in Utrecht. We did end up visiting the Academiegebouw over in the Domplein and had a really great experience. It’s a beautiful building and I’ll post more about it this week once I get the photos sorted and uploaded. For now, here’s a photo of one of the staircases.

As I stood there looking down, I couldn’t help but think of the artist M.C. Escher, a Dutch graphic artist known for his mind-bending, maze-like designs. His piece titled Relativity is the work that the staircase reminded me of specifically. It’s not the first time I’ve taken a photo here and had thoughts of Escher. Sometimes the different planes and angles of rooftops and balconies can create some disorienting images.

12 thoughts on “Shades of Escher

    • Despite an art history degree, I don’t think I had realized he was Dutch until I moved here. It’s amazing the number of famous people I’ve come to realize are Dutch. They’re sneaky. 😉

  1. Weird, I’d never heard of Escher but yesterday a friend was telling me about the museum and now you brought him up too! Weird how that happens. I go 36 years without ever hearing about him and then two people bring it up within a 2 day period.

    • I love how stuff like that happens. Once you learn something new, it seems to pop up everywhere! I’ve been meaning to visit the museum. I’d love to see his work in person. My roommate and I had a poster of one of his pieces in our dorm room in college.

    • The fact he was Dutch seems to be a little-known fact. His nationality was even a question on a quiz show I watched last night and the contestant got it wrong. 😉

  2. Yes, that is what we meant, it’s beautiful on the inside, too! The Boymans van Beuningen art museum in Rotterdam once had a 3d experience of Escher’s relativity – as part of a full exhibition on Escher, it was amazing experience! Bit like the staircases in Hogwarts as well….. 🙂

    • It really was a pleasant surprise to see just how fascinating the inside was — and such a mix of periods! I would have loved to have seen that exhibit. It sounds fascinating and so fun!

      • O.k., a quick heads up on Escher for you. We were in The Hague last weekend. In the palace on the Lange Voorhout (10 minute walk from central station), there is a permanent Escher exhibition (escherinhetpaleis.nl/). By Sunday afternoon we were too tired to drag ourselves up the steps – but we will go back to visit this exhibition. We’ll be uploading photos for The Hague to our site in October…

        • I’d forgotten that exhibition is there. I’m going back to the Hague next month, probably, to see an exhibit at Mauritshuis. I need to remember to check out the Escher exhibit, as well. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

