Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured

Ramshackle Shack
This week I went back into my archives for a texture-related photo and decided to explore a bit of the texture of architecture, specifically buildings that I came across living in the southern part of the US. I liked revisiting bits of architecture that are a little different from what I see now.

This first building with it’s rough-hewn, splitting wood, and rusted tin roof, surrounded by feathery flora, is a shed/cabin that I passed regularly when I last lived in Greensboro, North Carolina. It was a small building in the middle of fields and woods, just across the street from a few houses. If nothing else, it’s a change from the tightly packed urban city center I live in now.

Green on Green
On the opposite end of the spectrum is this beautiful house in Savannah, Georgia. It’s definitely a city house, but it brings a bit of the country into the city. It’s a riot of texture with the highly decorative iron railings, smooth wooden shutters, and ivy-covered walls. Gone are the smooth walls. They’ve been replaced by the tactile fabric of flora. I always want to run my hand across these living walls.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured

    • Savannah is definitely worth a visit. Great historic buildings, lovely small squares with lots of oak trees covered in Spanish moss, and some great food, too! Tons to photograph!

    • I think it’s the lacy ironwork railings that make it look so New Orleans, like the Pontalba Apartments on Jackson Square. I wish I’d had a better camera when I was in college and taken photos of the city.

  1. Several years back on a vacation trip from the UK around North.& South Carolina, Georgia and Florida I had the good fortune to visit Savannah. Unfortunately I didn’t get to see much of it because I caught food poisoning in Charleston and spent most of the time we had set aside for Savannah in bed or the bathroom. It’s somewhere I ‘d like to go back to but don’t know if I’ll ever find the time now

    • Oh, what a shame! Charleston is lovely, but I prefer Savannah, as it’s a bit smaller and cozier and not quite as heavily touristic as Charleston has become. That said, there are some truly beautiful spots in all four states. Of course, I may be biased having grown up in two of the states. đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

