Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces

Carice van Houten en Halina Reijn
When I saw the topic for this week’s photo challenge, I wasn’t sure what to do. I don’t do portraits, unless you count my pets, and people in general are usually more accidental than intention in my photos.

But then I remembered that this week was the beginning of the annual Nederlands Film Festival! The festival opened yesterday with the premier of the film De Bende van Oss at the Stadsschouwburg. Since I live so close, I figured this would be a fun chance to take some pictures of famous Dutch faces. Probably the most famous face there was Carice van Houten (the woman on the left). She’s been in some films such as Valkyrie and Repo Men, and is going to be in the upcoming season of Game of Thrones. The woman on her right is Halina Reijn, an actress starring in the film Isabelle, which is also premiering at the film festival.

It’s not the best photo I took, but I like it for the mix of faces, with so many in different directions, but with the main light being on the faces of Carice and Halina. Appropriate.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Faces

  1. Nice mix of light, scale and points of interest! I see exactly what you mean. You can also just make out a frame in the camera on the right of the image which I really like.

    • I took some other photos specifically to get the image in the camera, along with the person being filmed/photographed. Hopefully, I’ll get around to posting other photos and talking more about the film fest later today.

    • Thanks! It was a bit of luck, really, since my batteries hadn’t recharged properly and my camera kept dying on me! Lots of quick shots and a lot of hope that at least a few would turn out ok! 🙂

    • Who knows, maybe de mol is in some of the other photos I took. On the plus side, I’m now a bit more up on my Dutch actors after doing a lot of googling to find out just who I was photographing that night. 😉

Leave a Reply

