Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows.2

Still Life With Bike
As I explained in my previous post, my first thought for this week’s theme was to photograph the Dom cathedral’s wonderful Gothic windows. However, as I was walking down Domstraat toward the cathedral, I passed this art gallery that has been a frequent source of inspiration for me. A window installation of the work of one of their featured artists inspired my own artwork that now hangs in our bedroom. The current exhibit by an artist who does wonderful graphic-style images of Utrecht is another favorite. I love seeing the different parts of the city depicted in this format.

As I walked past the gallery Saturday, I was inspired by one of the paintings. The artist has focused on one section of the Stadhuis, including just the windows and the ubiquitous bicycles. I loved the idea of using this painting of windows, seen through a window, with the reflections of other windows layered over it all. Even better, some of the Gothic windows of the cathedral, which is just a few steps away, are reflected in the gallery’s window.

Windows Multiplied
Additionally, I love how the windows in the painting seem to line up so well with the windows of the building reflected in the gallery window. This collection of windows, all in one window, was too good an opportunity to pass up!

24 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows.2

    • I loved both — especially since I’d had the inspiration to go inside the cathedral and get the interior shot — but I couldn’t pass up this one, either. It was just such a great interpretation of the theme.

    • The second is my favorite, as well. I think the first is just to set the scene. πŸ˜‰ I was torn about the man’s inclusion, but in the end, I liked it. He almost looks like he’s looking out one of the painted/reflected windows.

  1. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge WINDOWS « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  2. Alison, this is crazy! Haha. What great shots. In the 2nd, there’s layer after layer of windows, in certain points even melding to each other. Like I said, crazy! πŸ™‚

  3. very creative photo with all the reflections of the windows merging like that. I have done something similar once, in Barcelona. A reflection of a Gaudi buidling that looked distorted because of the window but actually looked like that (being a Gaudi design with no straight lines). It’s fun to play around with reflections in photos.

    queation: who decides the “theme of the week” for your photos? Anyway, you inspire me to appreciate my hometown more AND to take out my camera more often!

    • Oh, I’d love to go to Barcelona to see the Gaudi buildings. They’re amazing structures! I love the organic feel of their forms. Your photo sounds fantastic!

      The weekly theme is set up by WordPress (my blog host). I came across it through another blog, I think, and have enjoyed taking part in it, when I remember or when inspiration strikes.

Leave a Reply

