Wordless Wednesday: Misty Domtoren

Misty Domtoren

12 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Misty Domtoren

  1. Hi!
    You don’t know me, and I don’t remember how i stumbled onto your blog, but I just wanted to tell you that I have just finished reading all of your posts! It’s quite interesting to see my country through foreign eyes, especially now that I’m not living there at the moment (I’m studying towards an MA degree in Lund, Sweden). Your pictures make me miss Utrecht! Also, I think I have a pretty good idea of where you live, approximately – you live somewhere on the street that the back yard of my student society (Biton, not Unitas, just to be clear) is on! That’s pretty cool. 🙂

    • Ah, so you’re the one who’s been reading all my old posts. I saw it in my stats and had a laugh reading through some of the old posts I’d forgotten. I hope you enjoyed it all. Thanks for reading, and I hope you’re not too homesick now. 🙂 Enjoy Sweden!

      • Yep, that would be me! I did enjoy it. 😀 And thanks! Have a great rest of your day and maybe I’ll comment again some day, hehe. 🙂

  2. Great picture, I just love the Dom! Especially when I’m out walking or biking outside the city (I live in Utrecht South, so I’m out of the city within 5 minutes really) and I see the Dom towering above the city from far away, just as it would have looked in the time it was built. I mean, that must have been one impressive church, as it still is now despite all the modern buildings that have popped up around it. Good thing the city’s counsil does not allow buildings above a certain height being built near the Dom. Much better to preserve the skyline as it is now.

    PS I’ve been looking up some older posts as well, they make a very interesting read 🙂

    • I too love that the council has limited the height of surrounding buildings. It really is a thrill to see the Domtoren rising up over the city, even from farther out.

Leave a Reply

