This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things

Intruder! Intruder!
Look closely. See the non-black cat on the other side of the window? Cute scene, right? My two black cats checking out the neighbor cat who has decided to perch on the window sill and be the typical curious cat. There’s no doubting it’s a cute cat, and one who has perched there many times in the past.

Squint

That’s not the only neighborhood cat that’s come for a visit. This ginger has stopped by a few times as well. Unfortunately, my two cats don’t like these trespassers. Lola, in particular, takes issue with them merely walking by and howls her head off and goes all puffy when they sit on her windowsill — or even think about it.
Intruder

Cat Fight

Luna makes a bit of noise, but she generally leaves the real smack-talking to Lola. Here’s Luna tagging out, while Lola puffs up in preparation for an epic battle.
Tag Team
The next thing I knew, there went my curtains, as Lola launched herself at the other cat (who you can just spy behind Lola and the curtains).
There go my curtains
At the end of the battle, my curtains had various puncture marks and a few small tears in them. Not ideal, but things could have been worse.

In fact, they could be much worse. This is what happened this week when the ginger cat came back. Completely torn!
This is why we can't have nice things

I think I have enough of the fabric left over to remake the curtain panel, but I’ve been hesitant to try for fear that we’ll have another throw-down. As I said, this is why we can’t have nice things.

Taunting

17 thoughts on “This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things

  1. typical cats!!! and yes it could have been worse… just lost a huge glass vase thanks to Priscilla… and it shattered HARD…

    they are so damn cute though… what else can you do but love them right??

    • Oh yeah, have had a few things shatter over the years. And then you can’t help but worry that they’ll get glass in their paws, even though they’re the ones who caused all the mess! The overwhelming cuteness is like their evolutionary protective element. Let’s them get away with murder! πŸ˜‰ To be honest, I was laughing when I saw the state of the curtain, after being roused from bed by the howling.

  2. Most people I know don’t like cats and I just don’t get why! I think they are always funny and I never get bored of watching them wander and hunt around my garden!

    Great post, cheered me up! πŸ™‚

    • All things considered, they’re really not that destructive. The constant joy I get from them easily makes up for a few damaged items. I think cats have a bad rap, which is unfortunate. They’re wonderful companions!

    • Heh. I have been reconsidering my curtain choices, but I love the light that comes through these! Oh well, at least it’s IKEA, so I may still be able to get the stuff if I don’t have enough!

      And I guess you are to ginger cats what I am to black cats. Can’t resist them!

  3. The Claws are definitely out at your place… at least it was the curtain flying and not personal fur from your two fluffies.
    ps. I’ve just arrived back from New Zealand via Singapore but have an excellent case of jet lag… will make sure I catch up on your blog posts once my brain has been reconnected with my body. (it’s just on 7.00pm the kids have already collapsed into bed and Himself and I are about to follow, have been up since 1.00 and 3.00 last night respectively)

  4. This is all too familiar to me, my cat also hates a neighbour cat who sometimes gets let out on the hallway outside my bedroom window. My cat Poppy goes mental and climbs the curtains and tries to kill the other cat (that’s about 3 times her size btw) with growls and hisses through the glass! Result: a zillion rips and punctures in the curtains. Good thing I love cats, at least more then I love my curtains πŸ™‚

    cats will be cats, what can you do πŸ™‚

  5. my cat is, apart form being destructive at times, incredibly stupid at times as well. She even caught on FIRE when she jumped in the midst of some tealights that were on a tray on the table, trying to catch some bug flying around… The tips of her fur were literally smouldering (it smelled really awful) but I got her in time and put a wet towel on her to make sure her fur was not on fire anymore. Silly creatures, but that’s why we just can’t help but love ‘m!…

Leave a Reply

