Throw Me Sumthin’, Mister!

King Cake Babies
Happy Mardi Gras! I had thought about actually making a king cake this year, but as sick as I am, I don’t see that happening now. Maybe shrimp etouffé for dinner? Or shall I embrace the British Pancake Tuesday tradition? To be honest, it all sounds a bit overwhelming right now. In the words of the immortal Dead Milkmen, “I’m all messed up on cough syrup now, so just like, nevermind.”

Recommended music for today: “Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans” by Louis Armstrong or Harry Connick Jr. or any number of other singers.

8 thoughts on “Throw Me Sumthin’, Mister!

  1. Happy (that is, as happy as you can manage in your circumstances) Mardi Gras!
    A Mardi Gras feast with the pancakes, the shrimp and the cake would just be great! I’d like to be in New Orleans on Mardi Gras at least once in life to see the celebrations.
    I hope you get better soon!

    • That would be quite the feast! If only …

      Mardi Gras in New Orleans really is a lot of fun, although if you’re only going to go to New Orleans once, I’d recommend going some other time. That, or stay for a while afterward so you can enjoy the city when it’s not swamped with crazy tourists.

  2. Yep, spot on …forget the beads, if anyone wants to throw anything, cough syrup, throat lozenges, soft tissues , vitamin C and Panadol in any combination and volume would be good.

    If you have what we have it’s a really nasty cough that is a cow to shift…and tiredness as it’s best friend.
    Pancakes? I’ll pass… soup sounds way better right now. Happy Mardi Gras to anyone who celebrates it… me.. my dancing shoes have dust on them and I’m not in any state of either mind or body to change their status.

    I’ll happily race you back to good health… the sooner the better hey?
    New Orleans during Mardi Gras (or actually any time) is somewhere on my bucket list… I’ve heard about how amazing it is but know next to nothing about what it involves.

    I hope you get better soon!!!

    • It sounds like there must be something going around these parts of the lowlands. Fortunately, I haven’t had much of a sore throat, but the coughing and the congestion through my whole upper body is driving me mad. Especially the coughing. Nothing tastes right, either, which is a small blessing each time I choke down the cough syrup. I hope we’re both on the mend soon. This is sheer misery!

      As for New Orleans, I’d recommend going in the spring when it’s not too hot and humid (oh, the humidity!!), so really any time up through March. 😉 Non-Mardi Gras might be good, too, while the kids are still a bit young. It can get a bit wild. But there’s lots of history and lots to see outside of Mardi Gras, so I really do recommend a visit someday if you can.

Leave a Reply

