Last Hurrah

Dutch Spirit
You may have noticed a lack of comment on the Euro Championship since my first post. That would have something to do with the fact that the Dutch team, although considered a favourite to do well, has yet to win either of the first two games in their group. It’s been painful, to say the least. They’re not officially out of it; there’s one more game to play tonight in the group round. However, the chances of us advancing are pretty slim and require a lot of other things to happen. Still, we’ll be watching this evening and keeping our fingers crossed. Kom op jongens! Laat de leeuw niet in z’n hempie staan!

23 thoughts on “Last Hurrah

    • We were kind of surprised last night when we realised Greece and the Czech Republic were going through and Russia was out. There’s either still hope for us, or it’s going to be one of those kinds of tournaments. 🙂

  1. Keeping my fingers crossed for the Dutch team. I think they can up their game when it really counts, like they did against Brazil in the world cup.

    I also think it will be a rough match with a few cards.

    • That’s what’s so frustrating. They’re not that different a team from the one that went all the way to the end of the World Cup, so to see them playing so poorly is unbelievable. Hopefully, they’ve got their act together for tonight and don’t commit any silly fouls.

  2. Deepest commiserations to Dutch football fans everywhere. Please transfer your allegiances to England for the rest of the tournament! 😉

    • I’ve got England and Italy left, although after tonight, England may well have my undivided support. It’s another night of needing the stars to align just right!

  3. Went with my family on father’s day (dressed on orange) to a local bar and sadly watched the Dutch finish their stint in the Euro. So today I went to an English pub here in town to see England reign victorious. Go England.

    • I wish they were each playing Spain and France and could knock both of them out. Choosing a side tonight is painful, since I can’t stand either. Technically, I’m cheering for Italy tomorrow. I’ve been supporting them — long before meeting Giovanni — since 1994. It would be much easier to cheer on England if you didn’t have Rooney. I just don’t like him. Still, in this kind of situation, I prefer to simply think that I can’t lose. 🙂 I’ll be happy either way.

  4. In that case, I hope your luck with backing the “wrong ‘uns” continues! 😉

    Joking aside, I think it is too tight to call a winner – so I’ll go for the unpredictability of a penalty shootout. Its in the lap of the footy gods now…….

    COME ON ENGLAND!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

