I Have the Prettiest Screens

Sparkle
One of those small differences between the Netherlands and the US — or at least the parts of the US I lived in — is the lack of window screens. Maybe it’s a result of growing up in the South, where there are some seriously scary bugs and other creatures, but I like screens. I want some sort of protection against flies, spiders and other creepy crawlies. However, I also want to be able to open my windows and get some fresh air into the house.

Downstairs, we only have two transom windows in the kitchen, but when I open them, we inevitably get flies who drive me mental with their buzzing. We probably could have purchased some screen material and tacked it up, but since we rarely head out to the big-box hardware stores, we’ve never investigated our options.

I like to come up with easy, MacGyverish solutions, though, so today, while walking through the lapjesmarkt (fabric market), I spotted a stall with a pretty mesh-like fabric in a colour that goes quite well with our kitchen. Best of all, the fabric was only ā‚¬1 per meter, so I quickly bought a meter of the fabric, sequined flowers and all! Who said window screens have to be boring old wire mesh?

A year or so ago, I had made use of a similar scrap of material for one of the windows, but I didn’t have enough for both windows. Now I’ve got enough fabric for both windows, and it’s even the right colour. How many typical window screens have sequined flowers on them? I’m pretty sure I have the prettiest screens in the city. Even if they are held up by thumbtacks.
Prettiest Screens

Of course, I couldn’t resist having a bit of fun with the leftover fabric. After veiling myself with it, I could resist torturinghaving a quick bit of fun with Pippo and Lola. Luna wisely kept out of sight.
Taking the Veil

Lola Wrapped Up

13 thoughts on “I Have the Prettiest Screens

  1. Screens are definitely something I miss. However, it’s also nice to get as much sun as possible through these (sadly north-facing) windows.

    Who doesn’t love playing with the pets, eh? šŸ˜‰

    • I love the long hours of sunlight we get in the summer when it’s not overcast. That’s definitely one of the perks of living here. It’s also nice that I can actually keep the windows open and don’t have to survive on AC all summer long. I miss the AC sometimes, but there’s something so nice about being able to open up the windows.

      As for the pets, they’re spoiled rotten. The least they can do is let me have a bit of fun occasionally. šŸ˜‰

  2. I was shocked to realize that people don’t have screens here. last summer we got some custom made screens for our sliding glass door and for the bedroom.
    Now we don’t have to worry about the bugs and the breeze is so wonderful.
    Congratulations on your creativity, yours were, I am sure, a lot cheaper than ours!

    • I’d love a screen door for our back door, so that I could get some more air in, but not have to deal with the bugs getting in and the cats getting out. One cat tried to make a break for it over the wall, and I’ve never trusted her since. šŸ˜‰

  3. Alison: Thanks for sharing the photos. Your pets are precious, and the screen is a work of art. The screen lets in the fresh air, while keeping out the insects. Very clever indeed.

  4. Interesting point that struck me strongest is.. the flies! In England at the moment – past few years – as a friend eco scientist pointed out: there is a serious dearth of such pesky pests. And butterflies, and moths. Why complain? Cos everything has by now got its place , a system; and if one, two, or three are deficient then the whole chain is disrupted, and things don’t deteriorate as they ought to, and it takes years to get back.
    Just a note.

    • That’s really interesting! I’ve certainly heard about the drop in frogs, but didn’t realize that there had been a drop in flies and such. See? I’m just doing my part to keep them outside where they can do their work! šŸ™‚

  5. Lovely ‘screens’! And what a bargain!
    Yeah, unfortunately most screens are only available at the DIY stores, and on the rare occasion at Blokker, or the real cheap version at Xenos (but they serve the purpose) Not to mention how long do we actually need them? šŸ˜‰

    • Since they’re the only windows we have downstairs, I do try to keep them open for as long as possible, until the cold wind cutting in gets unbearable. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

