The Return of Summer Darkness

Utrecht's Unusual Festival
It’s time for one of my favourite festivals in Utrecht. Summer Darkness is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. Ten years of Goths, Lolitas, and other alternative types invading Utrecht for a festival of art, music, fashion, markets and more. Oddly enough, it does seem to coincide with the rare week of warm weather. I’m not always sure that’s a good thing, considering some of the corsets, rubber and other warm outfits many of the attendees are usually wearing.

In between the Olympic events, I’ll probably head over to the Domplein this weekend to check out some of the fashion shows and the general crowd that is always on hand, ready for a few photo ops. It’s a great mix of old and young, Goth and non-Goth. There’s a link and more info about the festival in the Calendar of Events section.

In other random news, I attended an Expat Desk focus group last night and enjoyed getting the chance to discuss the things that would be helpful for new and established expats. Best of all, I also got to meet Jane from Jane in Utrecht. What a great surprise! She’s just as wonderful and interesting to talk with as her blog, which I always enjoy.

In integration news, I rode my bike over to the meeting last night (not something I do often) and I did it while wearing heels. I still get wobbly when other cars, bikes and scooters pass too close, i.e., on the same street, but I’m getting much better!

ETA: I just found out that the Domtoren will be playing a few special songs for the opening of Summer Darkness today. From the Summer Darkness Facebook page:

The official opening of Summer Darkness with the unique entertainment of Malgosia Fiebig, Carilloneur Extraordinaire of the Dom Church will play 3 dark birthdaysong.. which ones?
Qntal – Palastinalied
Within Temptation – Ice Queen
And Last but most certainly not least:
Depeche Mode – Enjoy the Silence
We hope you will all enjoy this unique musical moment.

8 thoughts on “The Return of Summer Darkness

    • Heh. I knew you were getting better at it, so you encouraged me. Plus, I want to get comfortable enough to bike out to the pannenkoeken restaurant with a friend (when it’s a bit cooler). I still avoid the busy streets, but I’m flying down the empty ones!

    • That was the last time I was there. I seem to have missed last year. I wish I could have seen some of the concerts four years ago when I first moved here. There were some of the bands that I remember really well from my teen years.

  1. Love SD, there’s always such a nice ambiance. I always feel as if people are more friendly to each other, must be the festival vibe haha. Too bad I’m usually not at home when it takes place 😦

Leave a Reply

