August Storms

Summer Darkness 2012
We’ve had some heavy storms this past week that have been more impressive than the usual rain we’ve had much of this summer. August 1 saw a particularly strong series of thunderstorms, which if you know your Utrecht history, will suggest a pattern.

You see, on 1 August 1674, the nave of the cathedral in Utrecht was destroyed in a storm. While the storm we had this week wasn’t that dangerous, it was an interesting link through time. In the photo above, the market stalls from this weekend’s Summer Darkness festival were set up where the nave once stood. The ruins of the cathedral actually remained there on the Domplein until the 1800s!

The Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI) has an article (in Dutch) about the storm in 1674, as well as some interesting illustrations of how it all looked at the time.

(Yes, yes, I should have posted this on Wednesday, but I didn’t get a chance to after posting my other Summer Darkness photos, and more people were searching for those. If the remains of the cathedral could lie there for a couple hundred years, I think I can get away with posting a couple days late.)

4 thoughts on “August Storms

  1. Yes when I was enjoying the lightning that night I did think about that other storm and the Dom Church collapsing. On the KNMI site they posted a newspaper article from that day, describing the storm in Middle-Dutch, which was fun to read. I think last week’s storm was a baby compared to that one!

    • Unfortunately, although I can read regular Dutch more easily, I think Middle Dutch is out of my league. Still, how interesting to read the news of the day! I certainly hope we don’t get any more storms like that one, though!

  2. Speaking of (well, blogging of) newspaper reports – did you happen to see any kind of appraisal, obituary etc of the poet Rutger Kopland recently?

    He is/was/will always be one of my top hierarchy of poets. Such a sad loss.

    Not such a photogenic subject, I admit – but I am slightly at a loss as to where to find out more.

    m

    • I saw mention of him, but didn’t read through any links, so I’m afraid I’m not of any help. If I come across anything else, I’ll pay attention.

Leave a Reply

