Cyber Maandag

Kerstboom
The Dutch don’t do Black Friday or Cyber Monday, obviously, since they don’t do Thanksgiving, either. However, I suppose the holiday shopping starts in earnest around the time that Sinterklaas makes his arrival every November. Still, it’s kind of a relief not to have that mad rush at ungodly hours.

I know many people do enjoy the Black Friday shopping, but not being a fan of crowds, I can’t stand the idea. Having worked retail in a tiny store in a big mall during the holiday season has also put me off the shopping madness! If you’re like me and prefer to avoid the crowds, Cyber Monday (today) and online shopping in general, can be quite handy. If that’s the case, you can always buy a copy of my Year in Utrecht calendar! Or something from my Handmade page, which I’ll be updating with a couple more items in the days to come. There’s also the Ukelution T-shirt or sticker for any ukulele fans, and all the rest of the photos I’ve put up on Red Bubble.

I’m pretty that’s the last of the seasonal plugging I’ll be doing of my stuff for sale. On the other hand, if all you’re looking for is a real Christmas tree in Utrecht, check the Saturday flower market at Janskerkhof. They already have the Christmas trees for sale, even though many Dutch don’t put up a tree until after Sinterklaas. The trees are certainly tinier than some of the big trees I used to buy in the States, but I’m sure there are other places to go outside the city center to find the bigger trees. If you’ve seen taller Christmas trees for sale in Utrecht (and the surrounding area), feel free to leave a comment with the location. We’ve got a faux tree, but there’s always someone looking for the real deal!

6 thoughts on “Cyber Maandag

  1. Ah, I always love visiting the flower market through your photos. I remember how it smelled. I put up my Christmas tree a few days before Christmas in Holland. Over here you wouldn’t be able to get a tree anymore by that time, but I’m able to push it to about two weeks. I don’t want my tree to be shedding its needles before Christmas has even arrived.

    • I usually aimed to put it up around the beginning of December. Here, it depends on my mood. I tend to wait until just after the 5th now, unless I can’t be bothered digging the tree and decorations out of the storage room. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Heh. I thought about saying something like that, but I have seen a few larger trees out on the streets when it comes time to have them picked up. Some people do have space, but I can certainly see how the smaller ones would be much easier to fit in a lot of homes!

  2. When we were still living in Utrecht, we always bought our tree on the 23rd, set it up on the 24th, and it came down Jan. 2. We always had real candles, scary thought now that I’m older, but it was beautiful. There were also 2 buckets full of water right by the tree with a large sponge in each, just in case! Good memories, thanks for that.

    • I knew candles were the original way of lighting a tree, but I’ve never seen it in person, only illustrations. The reality of it would terrify me now (I worry about the regular lights), but I can imagine it must have been beautiful. What a lovely memory to have!

Leave a Reply

