Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details

The Devil Is in the Details
I’m a fan of details, although looking at them more than doing them myself! This week’s photo challenge is “lost in the details” and is a bit more about getting up closer and looking at things from a new angle. I decided to have a bit of fun with the theme and include the “devil is in the details” theme, as well.

Today, after my stop at the Pandhof to photograph another gargoyle, I decided to stop in at Flora’s Hof (the garden next to the Domtoren) and get a detailed photo or three of this particular bas relief image depicting a moment in the life of a saint (Willibrord?). The sculpture is triangular in shape, but I decided to focus just on the devilish creature about to whack someone over the head. There’s some great detail just in the demon and his outfit. Chomping mouths everywhere!

The Devil Is in the Details

Then I moved in for a different and lower angle, which I like even more, because the person on the ground suddenly seems much more real. The whole image comes to life. So then I focused even closer on the demon.
The Devil Is in the Details

You can practically hear him — and his sleeve — cackling with glee as his sinewy claw is about to whoosh down upon us all!

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  2. Pingback: WPC Tibet | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

  4. Great photos, I’ve never even noticed that particular relief there, One of the perks of living in such an old city, you keep discovering new things. I’m sure to have a closer look now I know it’s there.

    • I was pretty sure I remembered some sort of demon in one of the panels there, but got a bit worried when I didn’t see it at first. It is, of course, the last one in the back corner. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – “Lost in Details” – Finding My ‘Special’ Shine – | Just another wake-up call

  6. Pingback: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 9, 'Lost in the Details']. | 3rdculturechildren

Leave a Reply

