Flamingos Are Flocking to Utrecht

My regular readers know I’m always trying to encourage people to visit Utrecht, whether they live in the Netherlands or are just visiting. After all, it’s a gorgeous city with nearly 2000 years of history and a constant stream of cultural events. So it makes sense that Toerisme (Tourism) Utrecht and I should work together in some way to encourage people to visit. And that’s what we started doing today. Thanks to a conversation on Twitter, I had a meeting with them today at their offices on the Domplein and we started discussing ways to work together to make Utrecht a slightly less hidden gem.

After the meeting, having only gone a short distance, I had one of those great moments of synchronicity/serendipity. There, in an open window, was another flamingo in Utrecht! I’m not much for signs and portents, but it was hard not to feel like this was a good sign for how my blog and Utrecht will continue to work together!

window surprise

Royal Flamingo

12 thoughts on “Flamingos Are Flocking to Utrecht

    • I’ve been wanting to work with them for a while, so I’m glad we’ve finally been able to connect. The flamingo’s just the icing on the cake. 🙂

  1. I’m so happy for you. It sounds like a perfect pairing with enormous potential for the future. And there is no way that pink flamingo was not a sign!!!! YAY, Alison!

    • I’m not sure if they’re doing the summer carillon concerts again, but they probably will. I think it’s usually the first Monday of every month. I’ll try to remember to find out more info. One of many great reasons to visit!

  2. Alison, I rarely post on blogs but just had to tell you that I’ve been reading your blog since we first decided to move to the Netherlands, and with your insistence that Utrecht is worth seeing I made sure to make it one of my first places to visit once we relocated here! And you were right, Utrecht is wonderful! As is your blog; both the writing and photography are inspiring and your love of the city is contagious… you are doing Utrecht a huge service and keeping many people engaged and connected. Thank you and please keep it going!

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment! I’m so glad I could convince you to visit — even unknowingly — and I’m so glad you enjoyed Utrecht. I’m thrilled that my love of the city comes through in my blog. I hope you’re very happy here in the Netherlands and please feel free to comment any time. I truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

