Utrecht’s Charming Dogs

Can we go now?
I still miss my own dog, Pippo, on a daily basis, but I do love seeing the many dogs found throughout the city on any given day. Many of them take part in events like yesterday’s Stadsdag/Culturele Zondag, tagging along with their owners to listen to some singing and enjoy the sunshine.

When we first arrived at the Stadhuisplein, I noticed this little terrier taking a break under one of the tables set up in the square. When a round of applause went up after the end of a song, he leapt to his feet, thinking that surely it was time to go. There are scents to be sniffed, after all! Why just stay in one spot?!

Unfortunately, he had to stay put, while we headed off to take in a few more sights and sounds. When we got to the Pandhof Sinte Marie, we came across this lovely sheepdog.
Built-in Shade
You may have spotted him in one of my photos yesterday. I admit to having taken more photos of him than of the singers. He was just so adorable! Like the little terrier, he seemed ready to keep exploring, rather than just sitting in one spot.

After the concert, we headed back to Mariaplaats, when who should we see, but our little terrier friend from the first concert!
Happy Dog
He was a dog on a mission, happy to be moving once again! As a result, that was the best photo I could get on such short notice. Still, you can see the happy smile on his face! I wonder if he and the sheepdog ran into it each other.

Utrecht’s not big, but the Stadhuisplein and Mariaplaats aren’t exactly next to each other, so it was a lovely surprise to see him again. I always love running into the same animals multiple times in an outing. Fortunately, it happens quite often!

3 thoughts on “Utrecht’s Charming Dogs

  1. Love the sheepdog, when I was growing up my parent’s best friends had one just like it (isn’t it called a Bobtail? It is in Dutch, or at least I I think it is). I learned to walk holding on to its long coat. He was a very patient dog 🙂

Leave a Reply

