Peace of Cake

Peace of Cake
As I’ve mentioned in the past, the celebrations surrounding the 300th anniversary of the Vrede van Utrecht (Peace/Treaty of Utrecht) are continuing through September, with a variety of exhibits and events to be found throughout the city. One of the more amusingly titled exhibits is Peace of Cake, an exhibit at Utrecht University.

As the university’s website explains:

Take a look behind the scenes of the science behind peace. Together with scientists from the University of Utrecht, the exhibition focuses on three (former) war zones: Uganda, South Africa and Yugoslavia. In short documentaries scientists look for insight into their search for peace.

To be honest, I haven’t been to the exhibit, nor do I have plans to go, but I’ve enjoyed the window display. I also enjoy cake. I have a recipe for a low-calorie chocolate cake that I make regularly so I can have something a little sweet after dinner without going overboard. I thought I’d share the recipe and hope that this doesn’t all come across as a little too “let them eat cake!”

Peace of Chocolate Cake
3/4 cup of flour
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 teaspoon vinegar
1 1/1 teaspoons butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350F/200C

Combine the dry ingredients and stir together until all are blended evenly. Then add in liquid ingredients and stir to combine. There may be some lumps, but there should be no obviously dry clumps.

Pour the mixture into a greased glass pie plate (approximately 8 inches) or divide evenly into a 12-hole muffin tin. Bake for approximately 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

I like to play around with the basic recipe, sometimes adding in chocolate chips or a dash or nutmeg/cinnamon, and nowadays I tend to sprinkle powdered sugar over the top before baking to give it a slightly sweet, delicate texture on the top. I eat it plain, but you can also top it with a glaze, frosting, or any other topping you like.

Before any extras and assuming 12 servings, it breaks down to 59 calories per serving. Even 1.5 servings, which is how I tend to break it down, is only 89 calories. It’s not the world’s best chocolate cake, but it certainly helps keep cravings at bay and satisfies my chocolate urges.

4 thoughts on “Peace of Cake

  1. I love the graphics and pun of the display – and I appreciate your cake recipe even more.
    And the exhibit sounds interesting, I may have to make a trip over and check it out.

Leave a Reply

