A Night of Lights and Music at VJ op de Dom with Kypski

DSC03396 DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
Last night I was awake and up late enough to finally make it to this year’s edition of VJ op de Dom, an annual mix of light art and music. Each year a variety of musicians/DJs perform, while light, art, video, and graphics are beamed onto the walls of the Domtoren. The whole square in front of the Domtoren is packed with people enjoying the music, lights, and hanging out with friends. It’s all very casual and gezellig.
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
For whatever reason, I’ve missed it in the past couple of years, but I was determined to finally go this year, in part because DJ Kypski, who was performing the last set, lives in my neighborhood. Got to support your buurman! He’s a nice guy who does some fantastic work on his own and with artists like Caro Emerald and the Matangi String Quartet. In fact, his work with the Matangi String Quartet may have been great prep for last night’s show, known as Beats Barok. The artists combined Baroque music with their own modern sounds, as a nod to both the 300th anniversary of the Treaty of Utrecht and the Oude Muziek Festival currently going on in town.

My pictures might not be the best, but that didn’t stop me from trying. I figured it would be too crowded for the tripod, so I made do. Bobbing DJs and moving lights in a dark setting were a bit of a challenge, but some of the blurry bits still look kind of cool. This is a cool shot of the Domtoren announcing Kypski and here’s a photo from Kypski with the view from the stage, looking out on the crowd. For some proper photos, check out annafotographie. It was a fun night; I’m glad I finally made it!
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
DJ Kypski | VJ op de Dom
Full photo set on Flickr.

9 thoughts on “A Night of Lights and Music at VJ op de Dom with Kypski

  1. Very nice photos. Blurry though but I guess that adds to the charm 🙂 I will try going next year. I always follow all your posts. They are very interesting 🙂

Leave a Reply

