Rainbow Brite Bike

Rainbow Brite
I’m finally going back to the US for a visit later this month. It will be my first trip back since moving here. I’m expecting a bit of reverse culture shock, including the lack of innovatively colored bikes that I see almost daily here.

While I try to cram a month of work writing into a week or so, I think I’ll take this week to share some of these interestingly decorated bicycles that can be found throughout Utrecht (and the whole country). Meanwhile, for everything you could possibly want to know about cycling in the Netherlands, check out the fun and informative blog Bicycle Dutch. Mark does a great job explaining the Dutch cycling infrastructure and how it can work in other countries. Plus, lots of great videos!

8 thoughts on “Rainbow Brite Bike

  1. That is a loved bike! I recognize the box on the bike on the right, too – postmen in UK use them. I have, ahem, found one or two!
    You will be greatly missed – for your colour and fun!
    Come back soon!

    • The plastic box is pretty common here on the fronts of bikes. Cheap and easy to replace if stolen. πŸ˜‰ Our bicycle posties typically use saddlebags on the back of the bike for mail delivery.

      As for my trip, I may end up posting about my visit to North Carolina, while I’m there, just for a change of perspective. Hopefully I’ll get some good photos too.

  2. Thank you Alison! You are too kind. It is interesting that you form a link to my former home town. Even though I work in Utrecht I do miss a lot of what is going on at the moment.
    Hope you have a great time in the US (Florida I presume) and do fill us in on any reverse culture shock experiences!

    • I can keep you up to date on Utrecht happenings and you can fill me in on Utrecht history. πŸ™‚

      Sadly, no visit to Florida. My family is in North Carolina now. This means I have to get used to hills and mountains once again! I’m hoping one of my old bikes made the move to my parents’ new house. That could be a fun way to get to know the neighborhood.

  3. Have fun back in the US, I wanted to say home, but what is home now? πŸ˜‰
    If anything, it will shed some interesting light on both countries and how you experience them.

    • I do find myself thinking that I’m going “home”, but Utrecht has become home as well. In fact, with all the changes that I’ll be going back to, I’ll be curious to see just how much it feels like home anymore.

  4. I would love a bike that looked like that – sadly my spraypainting skills are not up to par…

    Enjoy your trip back! I’ll be interested to hear you reactions to returning to the States and how you worked through any reverse culture shock.

    • This bike really was a step above most of the other DIY paint jobs I’ve seen!

      I’m sure the grocery stores alone will provide a bit of a shock after all these years. Hopefully I won’t forget to stock up on ranch dressing and chipotle tabasco while I’m there, though. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

