Toto, I don’t think we’re in Utrecht

photo
If you were wondering, I made it without incident back to the US on Monday. I lived here long enough that I’m not experiencing complete reverse culture shock, but I am a bit more aware of certain things now. It feels more as if my life in the US and my life in the NL are two completely separate things. Not good or bad; just completely different.

As for photos and blogging, I’ve been taking photos, but unfortunately I forgot to get a plug converter for my European laptop (with a useless battery), so I can’t upload photos until I get an adapter for my laptop. I did take a couple of photos today with my phone’s camera, though. One of the amusing differences between Utrecht (and much of the Netherlands) and North Carolina is the matter of elevation. We’ve got a lot more hills and mountains here. For that matter, just getting to the house requires muscles I haven’t used much in the past five years. Trust me, the photo doesn’t begin to show how steep a hill this is. I’ve been on rollercoasters with easier drops.
photo
Fortunately, there are lots of magnolia trees to enjoy on the trek.
photo

15 thoughts on “Toto, I don’t think we’re in Utrecht

    • No, it’s just a three-week visit. I’m having to adjust to nature rather than urban photography. I’ll probably get back into the swing of it, just as I am ready to go back. πŸ™‚

  1. Hi, good to read you made it across the Pond safely. I bet you’re coming across loads of little (and big) differences now you’ve been away for so long. Looking forward to more posts, are you going to stay for long? Your legs will look so toned when you come back, with all those hills πŸ™‚ Anyway, hope you have a great time!

    • We’ve got a trip to the mountains coming up, so I’m sure I’ll get even more exercise. I’ll have to use the driveway to get myself trained for the mountains! The mailbox is definitely one of the little differences I’ve noticed. Very common here — and I need to get a photo of one of the weirder ones I’ve seen — but definitely different from the brieven slots in doors and walls. πŸ™‚

  2. I live near Winston-Salem! Trust me that I know exactly what you mean by all the hilly areas as the Netherlands is basically really flat. The roads here are a bit of a pain to bike on! πŸ˜›

    • We’ve got two or three small hills in Utrecht, thanks to the old city walls, and I don’t think they’re as steep as my parents’ driveway! The Piedmont certainly has its fair share of hills. Perhaps just as well that I don’t have a bike here. πŸ™‚

      • Haha I doubt it! The Piedmont is pretty hilly. :3 My poor bike can’t handle most of the hills anyways so I usually have to walk my bike to a flatter area. What connections did you have on your flight back to North Carolina?

        • I went Schipol, London Heathrow, Raleigh, and will do the same in reverse to get back. Nice not to have a million connections. The airlines are American Airlines/British Airways (although lots of airlines seem to sell seats on the flight to Raleigh).

Leave a Reply

