Back in Utrecht

Gouden Kalf
I’m back!

After a gruelling trip back, which included a missed flight in London and what seems to be an elbow injury and too many bruises to count, I finally made it back to Utrecht yesterday. I saw the Domtoren on the taxi ride home and managed to get a quick shot of the Gouden Kalf (Golden Calf) before they take it down. It’s part of the decorations for the annual Nederland Film Festival, which I missed this year. I always get a photo of the kalf, though, so I was glad to not completely miss a year.

More NC photos and stories to come, interspersed with regular Utrecht content, but for now I’m cuddling the cats and the boyfriend and enjoying being able to walk everywhere.

10 thoughts on “Back in Utrecht

    • We drove through a bit of your part of NC on our way to and from the mountains. It was nice to see a different landscape, but I’m also glad to be back home. Hopefully I’ll have more stories to share when I get over this cold I picked up on the flight back.

  1. Welcome back! I walked past the schouwburg last week and there was a red carpet event going on with tons of press. Didn’t recognize anybody, but I’m hopeless when it comes to Dutch celebs anyway πŸ™‚ It must be nice not to be dependent on a car anymore to get places. I would be totally stuck in the US, not having a drivers license πŸ™‚

    • If I’d been here for the festival this year, I might have gone to take some photos of one of the red-carpet events. I found out a bit about some Dutch celebs from doing that in the past. I took pictures of anyone who got a lot of attention from the journalists and then checked news sites the next day to actually find out who everyone was. πŸ˜‰

  2. Welcome back! Cuddling cats is usually at the top of my list when returning from a trip, too. =) Hope you enjoyed your time in the States!

    • Thanks! Cuddling cats is always the best, whether they like it or not! I did enjoy my time in the US, but I’m also glad to be back. I’m still happy with my choice to live here. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I think my travel ordeal is the reason I’m sick now. The person next to me on my eventual flight to Amsterdam was suspiciously sniffly. *shakes fist at Heathrow*

Leave a Reply

