World Book Day

Lola Picks a BookToday is World Book Day. Every day should be World Book Day! Whether paperback, hardback, or ebook (eback?), books are wonderful things. I tend to read mostly ebooks at this point, due to convenience, but at heart I still prefer physical books. I like the feel of them and the way you can flip through them at will, marking favorite passages and such with pen or even random scraps of paper or anything else that can be used as a handy bookmark.

So when I saw yesterday that De Slegte was selling all of its books for €2 each, I knew I had to go. De Slegte is a wonderful bookstore on the Oudegracht, but sadly, like many bookstores, it’s closing. As I said, there’s a certain convenience to ebooks, but you can’t browse ebooks the way you can browse real books. I’ve found so many great books, just by browsing in stores.

By the time I made it to De Slegte this morning, it was clear that a lot had already been purchased, but there was still quite a lot from which to choose, in multiple languages. As you can see from the photo, we managed a decent haul. I picked up an art book on Annibale Caracci, an interesting illustrated history of Pennsylvania Avenue, and a book on some of the flora and fauna of Florida. I also picked up a couple of thrillers, including Gorky Park. I read the book years ago, but with current events, I thought I’d give it another read. Oh, and we picked up the massive Van Dale Dutch-English dictionary. We have a decent dictionary, but it’s not a Van Dale, which is THE name when it comes to Dutch dictionaries.

Everything must go at De Slegte and you’ve got through Saturday to take advantage of the €2 pricing. Still, the sooner you go, the better. After all, tonight is koopavond (shopping evening when stores stay open later) so there’s no telling what will be left if you wait until too late. Although the Norwegian Shipping News, in multiple volumes, is still available, if that’s your thing. It’s on a top shelf down in the kelder.

And now, a picture of a beautiful Doberman. It’s relevant in that the dog is sitting outside another book store.Waiting Patiently

Leave a Reply

